Better memory and app management for the D1

zeppelinrox

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
511
Reaction score
0
Well the milestone can't have compcache because of the locked bootloader so I have never experienced it... or swap for that matter :p

But what I would do is benchmark performance with and without and see what feels better or suits you better.
If you want more multitasking and less speed, then probably yeah but if you just want it as fast as possible, then it looks like probably no.
But I'm just going with what I've read about it.

btw, for benchmarking I like SmartBench and Linpack as the results aren't all over the map like Quadrant scores.
Usually I use SeePU.. it sits in the status bar and when cpu usage is down, I start the benchmark using performance governor.
This way, I'm comparing apples to apples.

I like leaving JIT enabled.
Yeah it takes up memory but now you control how much free memory you have anyway.
The only difference is that with JIT on, maybe you would have a couple of less apps running in the background.
So instead of 25 apps in memory, you'd have 23 or something like that.

But that doesn't matter much either because apps just take turns updating in the background anyway.

I guess the deciding factor for me is that there is apparently a slight delay when launching an app with JIT enabled.
But with SuperCharging... I don't notice much of a delay... ;)
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
70
Reaction score
0
I can't seem to get the "ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1" to disappear from the /data/local.prop file. It seems like no matter what I do, no matter what options I change, I can't get my home to not be locked in memory and not be "pretty weak". I've deleted the file, made sure any "keep home in memory" options are unchecked, changed the line to =0 and leave the blank space, everything I can think of or have seen on the forums. Nothing I do will get rid of that dumb file and let me actually get the script working right. The script still says it's "bulletproof" and stuff, but that clearly isn't the case because I still get plenty of redraws. Any suggestions?
 

jonnybgewd

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
76
Reaction score
0
So I tried the supercharge script, and used script manager and for the life of me I couldn't find the run as interective option, but I tried the script anyway
And it set the oom to 0 across the board, and obviously of didn't work as it should
So where do I find the run as interective option in script manager
Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
 

jonnybgewd

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
76
Reaction score
0
Hmm well then I'm not sure what's wrong with it except that it set the oom to 0

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
 

zeppelinrox

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
511
Reaction score
0
You ran Open Recovery file... use the sh.txt one!

Script Manager will do interactive automatically now just touch the screen or slide out the keyboard.

GodfatherIP: wow... nice sig!! lol
I can't seem to get the "ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1" to disappear from the /data/local.prop file. It seems like no matter what I do, no matter what options I change, I can't get my home to not be locked in memory and not be "pretty weak". I've deleted the file, made sure any "keep home in memory" options are unchecked, changed the line to =0 and leave the blank space, everything I can think of or have seen on the forums. Nothing I do will get rid of that dumb file and let me actually get the script working right. The script still says it's "bulletproof" and stuff, but that clearly isn't the case because I still get plenty of redraws. Any suggestions?
Why do you think the script isn't working. What option are trying to put in effect?
If you ran the script the goupings are re-arranged.
So if you were to check "Lock Home In Memory", your launcher will actually be a 2 - same as visible app -check with AMM without superuser permission :)

Usually, Visible App = 1 = Launcher when "Locked in Memory"

Now, it's Visible App = 2 = Launcher when "Locked in Memory"
Hard To Kill? Visible App = 2 and Launcher = 1

BulletProof, Launcher is 0, as always.

You should actually see a whole list of stuff in data/local.prop though, not just the ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=*

Also, before you see a change in launcher status, you need to reboot.
 

jonnybgewd

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
76
Reaction score
0
Oops lol

Ironic for such a simple operation to operate. I was daunted by the posts lol

Buit good job. My phone is blazing fast and just doesn't wanna stop.

Sent from my Super Charged Droid using DroidForums
 
OP
I

-iD

Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
219
Reaction score
1
I can't seem to get the "ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1" to disappear from the /data/local.prop file. It seems like no matter what I do, no matter what options I change, I can't get my home to not be locked in memory and not be "pretty weak".

Get rid of etc/init.d/04redraw.

It's resetting the home app to 1 every time u reboot.



Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
70
Reaction score
0
I can't seem to get the "ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1" to disappear from the /data/local.prop file. It seems like no matter what I do, no matter what options I change, I can't get my home to not be locked in memory and not be "pretty weak". I've deleted the file, made sure any "keep home in memory" options are unchecked, changed the line to =0 and leave the blank space, everything I can think of or have seen on the forums. Nothing I do will get rid of that dumb file and let me actually get the script working right. The script still says it's "bulletproof" and stuff, but that clearly isn't the case because I still get plenty of redraws. Any suggestions?
Why do you think the script isn't working. What option are trying to put in effect?
If you ran the script the goupings are re-arranged.
So if you were to check "Lock Home In Memory", your launcher will actually be a 2 - same as visible app -check with AMM without superuser permission :)

Usually, Visible App = 1 = Launcher when "Locked in Memory"

Now, it's Visible App = 2 = Launcher when "Locked in Memory"
Hard To Kill? Visible App = 2 and Launcher = 1

BulletProof, Launcher is 0, as always.

You should actually see a whole list of stuff in data/local.prop though, not just the ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=*

Also, before you see a change in launcher status, you need to reboot.

It looks like the problem may have been that I was using powerstrip (one of those apps that lets you have a popup screen with widgets and shortcuts, etc) as my default homescreen, and I just had a setting within the app to go to launcher pro on one press. Now that I've changed launcher pro to the default home app, unsupercharged, and resupercharged with the bulletproof option (and rebooted when unsupercharged and resupercharged), it seems to be working now.

I still don't see anything in data/local.prop besides the ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 though. From what I can tell, though, it doesn't seem to be affecting my bulletproof-ness. I managed to go to my rss app, pick a story and open it in dolphin mini browser, load some flash videos, watch them, and when I went back to my home, there was no redraw.

If I see redraws happening, I'll try out -iD's advice and delete the 04redraw file from etc/init.d
 

zeppelinrox

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
511
Reaction score
0
Your neither bulletproofed or supercharged.

First, bulletproof is ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=0
But that isn't really necessary if you have the V6 SuperCharger working.

local.prop should have 20 lines added by script.

Have you looked to see what 04redraw does exactly?
My thinking is that it probably deletes local.prop and adds the ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 line.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
70
Reaction score
0
That looks like it's exactly what it is. I opened the file up in notepad, and here's what it has:

Code:
#!/system/bin/sh
#
# Redraw

echo ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 > /data/local.prop
So I'll just delete that file and then the hard to kill/bullet proof launchers should be able to do their job, right?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
70
Reaction score
0
Alright, thanks for all the help :)

And I actually do have the twenty lines in my local.prop now. Time to see how my droid does supercharged! dancedroid
 

kinfolk248

Active Member
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
993
Reaction score
105
Location
Jackson, Ms
my phone bug out sometime and close apps. not fc just back out all the way to homescreen and make me try several times to reopen them still they stay open, extra annoying...
 
Top