BB Froyo Flash issues resolved

Mamaperk

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
117
Reaction score
0
I hope this helps others:

Followed the instructions on Droid Life:
Release: Bugless Beast Froyo V0.1 | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog
To Get Flash to Work:

1) Download Root Explorer from the Market (well worth the money - Astro does not allow for Read-Write access to the System Folders)
2) Download the Adobe Flash Player 10.1 APK (MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service)
3) Copy the APK to your SD Card
4) Open Root Explorer and select "Mount as R/W" at the top of the screen
5) Browse to the /system folder in Root Explorer
6) Open the /Apps folder
7) Locate the "Adobe Flash APK" -Long Press - Select DELETE

8) Return to the home screen of Root Explorer and browse to the /sdcard folder
9) Select the newly downloaded Flash Player 10.1 APK and choose to install
10) It will tell you that Flash Player is a system app, are you sure you want to replace it (it is actaully no longer there - so go ahead and replace - it never worked in the first place!)
11) Flash Player is now installed - If you browse back to /system/app you will see it is no longer there (that is because you removed it from the system - further proof of this is if you browse to Settings>Applications>Manage Applications you will see that Flash Player is no longer in "All Apps" but in "Downloaded" also the file is MUCH larger (around 13 megabytes)

It worked for me - should work for you!
 

Jizzylax

Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
308
Reaction score
0
All I did was reinstall the flash.apk file already in the system/app folder.

Works for me.
 

crownroyal

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
80
Reaction score
0
I keep having it stop working after reboot...driving me to drink(more)...
 
B

budmonster

Guest
so is this the correct flash build for BB? I've seen so many flash apk out i dont know which to use? isnt there a beta 2 out now too?

do you have to delete the flash apk in /system/app first? or can i just use root explorer and install the new flash right over it?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

krazyskott

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
130
Reaction score
0
Location
Richmond, VA
There's an alternate way as well that doesn't require paid apps. Use titanium backup and uninstall the flash apk. Then use astro to reinstall it. Quick, easy and worked for me
 

razorseal

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
303
Reaction score
0
where is the flash that comes with bb? do I have to install it or something??? I don't have flash or anything in system/app
 

razorseal

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
303
Reaction score
0
where is the flash that comes with this!!! I don't have it in system/apps :(
 

KpAtch3s

Member
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
48
Reaction score
0
An alternative way:

You need Astro, Android Terminal Emulator, and Pete's godmode script

Download the flash.apk onto your sdcard.
Run the emulator and type "su" hit enter > "godmode" hit enter
Then go to settings>applications>allow unknown resources
Open Astro and navigate to the flash.apk and tap for installation.

Enjoy :)

PS: No need to uninstall the previous version of flash, the flash beta2 will install over the old files.

Also check out m.flash.com to see some of whats available.
 
Last edited:

razorseal

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
303
Reaction score
0
that worked! I guess I should shut godmode off now?
 
Last edited:
Top