Backing up apps with Astro saves app data also?

PolyOlefin

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
190
Reaction score
0
I'm about to root and I don't want to lose my app data, such as car maintenance info in aCar and lists I've made in Note Everything. Will backing up with Astro save all that data as well?
 

ohioDroid

Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2010
Messages
308
Reaction score
0
I just did this the other day, and no. Astro did not save the data for the programs. Maybe there's a way to make it do so, but all I did was go to its App Manager and say 'back everything up.'
 

Reptileszz

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2010
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
So what good is it? I backed up everything when my droid was dying. Now I find out all it did was back up the app. WTF. Who cares? I could just download the apps again. Now all my data has gone with the dead droid. Thanks for nothing Astro.

Carole
 

Backnblack

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
11,106
Reaction score
27
Current Phone Model
iPhone 7+ 256gb
So what good is it? I backed up everything when my droid was dying. Now I find out all it did was back up the app. WTF. Who cares? I could just download the apps again. Now all my data has gone with the dead droid. Thanks for nothing Astro.

Carole

Astro has never claimed to save app data.....If my data was that critical, I would of done better research on what programs I was using for backup.
 
OP
PolyOlefin

PolyOlefin

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
190
Reaction score
0
So what good is it? I backed up everything when my droid was dying. Now I find out all it did was back up the app. WTF. Who cares? I could just download the apps again. Now all my data has gone with the dead droid. Thanks for nothing Astro.

Carole
I know what you mean, though I don't blame Astro.

The trend is that many apps have a built-in data backup feature but require you to buy the full version for it.

aCar uses an interesting mechanic; the free version automatically backs up your data once every month, but you have to purchase the app to be able to backup manually whenever you'd like.
 

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
10,635
Reaction score
12
Location
South FL
OP once you root there are two apps that you should check out. MyBackUp Pro and Titanium. Both are paid and well worth the money. I use both. I believe MyBackUp Pro may work for non rooted phones but I'm not positive.

Mike
 

Abe21599

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
6,322
Reaction score
31
Location
Ohio
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
450
Reaction score
1
Location
Texas
MyBackupPro can't backup protected data unless you are rooted. Unless that has changed. I tried that when I first got my phone to backup aCar of all things. It didn't get the data. If you want to backup all data you HAVE to be rooted.
 

kevdog

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
722
Reaction score
0
Ive had good success with Titanium -- I'm rooted however and paid $3.99 for the app.
 
OP
PolyOlefin

PolyOlefin

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
190
Reaction score
0
I had some stability issues with custom ROMs at first, and I was told a possible reason was because I was restoring app data from Titanium. So I've been using Titanium to restore apps and the apps themselves to restore data.

No more problems, but I don't know if that's what fixed it.
 

teddyearp

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
1,814
Reaction score
13
Location
Pinetop, AZ
Current Phone Model
Motorola Razr 5g Rooted
^^^ That is precisely correct. Usually restoring apps (and especially the app data) using Titanium, MyBackupPro, or any other when going to a different rom will cause some problems. I have finally given in to that as fact from my experience.
 

wmscottmc

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
217
Reaction score
0
OP once you root there are two apps that you should check out. MyBackUp Pro and Titanium. Both are paid and well worth the money. I use both. I believe MyBackUp Pro may work for non rooted phones but I'm not positive.

Mike

Much of your application data canNOT be backed up unless your phone is rooted. This inlcudes using MyBackup Pro. Some apps are designed to allow mybackup to backup its app data, but you will need to verify that your app is on the list.

Froyou has a backup feature in settings/privacy/backup my data. I havent been able to find anybody that is using it, or if it also requires the phone to be rooted. Does it backup just the apps, or also the app data?

I think a lot of users are assuming that their phones are being backed up, when it may just be the apps (and no user data) that is being backed up.

Root your phone, and use something like Titanium, if you want a full backup.
 

djembeman

Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2010
Messages
190
Reaction score
0
So what's the point of a Titanium Backup?

OP once you root there are two apps that you should check out. MyBackUp Pro and Titanium. Both are paid and well worth the money. I use both. I believe MyBackUp Pro may work for non rooted phones but I'm not positive.

Mike

Much of your application data canNOT be backed up unless your phone is rooted. This inlcudes using MyBackup Pro. Some apps are designed to allow mybackup to backup its app data, but you will need to verify that your app is on the list.

Froyou has a backup feature in settings/privacy/backup my data. I havent been able to find anybody that is using it, or if it also requires the phone to be rooted. Does it backup just the apps, or also the app data?

I think a lot of users are assuming that their phones are being backed up, when it may just be the apps (and no user data) that is being backed up.

Root your phone, and use something like Titanium, if you want a full backup.

So, it sounds like Titanium or MyBackup will actually cause problems. I have been wondering what the point in using Titanium backup is...

The privacy settings ("Backup my Data/Automatically restore) within the Android OS will backup app data to Google and restore the apps after you do a factory reset. All actual data like game progress was lost after I did a factory reset. It just seems like there is no point in a Titanium backup if it is going to cause you problems. But if you don't want to loose data within the app then will Titanium restore that data; like game progress?

I recently flashed a custom ROM, Bugless Beast V0.5, I had a Titanium backup from before but don't want to mess with a good thing. All of my apps automatically installed themselves but lost the data within the apps.
 
Last edited:

teddyearp

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
1,814
Reaction score
13
Location
Pinetop, AZ
Current Phone Model
Motorola Razr 5g Rooted
As far as app data it's just too hard to know for sure, some people have good luck, and alot don't. Of course here in the forums, we hear mostly from those who don't, so I only use MyBackupPro to backup/restore call logs, bookmarks, and texts. As you said, now with froyo all the rest gets restored automatically, except of course what ever your ringtone, notification and alarms sounds were set to.

This is why I don't 'rom' hop. I only change if there is some really significant new feature in the 'next' one.
 

eg146

Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Location
AZ
Backing Up App Data on Droid

OK so if I'm understanding this, unless your phone is rooted, data within an app may not be saved properly?

This happened to me with a password safe app, it was only as current as the manual backup I ran within that app. Would have been nice to know that before my phone locked up!
 
Top