Android 2.1 and Fragmentation

Mr. Premium

Reaction score
Ok, first off if you haven't heard HTC's roadmap for next year is out and it looks like T-Mobile is getting first dibs with the Nexus.

Exclusive: first Google Phone / Nexus One photos, Android 2.1 on-board -- Engadget

The new device is going to run Android 2.1 and have way better hardware (i.e. Snapdragon!!!1!111!). 2.1 is suppose to have new elements like 3d viewing of open apps like the Pre.

For the most part apps are backwards compatible, but could this fragmentation hurt android in the future. Is there ever going to be a point where backwards compatibility ends?

I just hope our Droids lasts 2 years. I know it's Android and flexible but still... technology keeps moving faster.

Last edited:

Donkey Hodie

Reaction score
I'm not an Android developer either but I expect that the architecture is such that unless an application specifically wants to use a new feature that's only available on a certain rev. of the OS it'll run on all of them unmodified. Linux apps. do a nice job of running on a wide variety of platforms/displays/graphics adaptors and Android apps. will probably be able to do the same. I'm certain there will be some developers or apps. that want to use a whizzy new feature that's only available from release x.y forward but they'll do it in the knowledge that their base will be small (at least at first) and they're trading off sales volume against peoples desire for the new feature.