All About Apps2SD (FROYO)

peteralfonso

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
844
Reaction score
1
In my latest release I enabled apps2sd to work on most apps (even the ones that do not support it yet). Most of your apps will work flawlessly but there are some such as widgets and others that may not. Also you may have other questions about this feature and I will try to answer them as they come.

Q) My Widgets and other apps are not working properly on the sdcard, what do I do?

A) Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Example App > Move to Phone

Q) Does having apps installed on the sdcard cause an ill effect on its performance?

A) No not at all, stated by Google here: App Install Location | Android Developers

Q) Why are my my market apps not showing up in my app drawer?

A) If they are installed on your sdcard you must have it mounted or wait for it to mount before they appear.

Q) How do I disable automatic apps2sd permanently?

A) In /system/etc/install-recovery.sh change "pm setInstallLocation 2" to "pm setInstallLocation 0" with no quotes.
 
Last edited:

kinfolk248

Active Member
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
993
Reaction score
105
Location
Jackson, Ms
Is that the permanent fix to apps2sd, because terminal will get undone with each reboot right? Whats the permanent fix if I may ask
 

clayinho

New Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2010
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
I am having a hard time editing that .sh file due to the read only permissions on it. How do I get around that?
 

bamfsig45

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
882
Reaction score
0
Location
ICT
Q) How do I disable automatic apps2sd?

A) In a terminal simply enter "pm setInstallLocation 0" with no quotes.
You can also do this in adb:

adb shell pm setInstallLocation <switch>

<switch> options:
1 = internal
2 = sd
0 = auto


Also its case sensitive. at least thats been my experience.

pm set"I"nstall"L"ocation

inside the quotes are capital.
 

ddarvish

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
sorry but what the hell is the auto option? does that mean the app itself decides where to install? does that have to be coded by the programmer?
 

chewy74

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
1,348
Reaction score
16
is there a script that can move all the apps over to sd vs. having to do it one by one?
 

creamers

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
119
Reaction score
0
Location
Tennessee
sorry but what the hell is the auto option? does that mean the app itself decides where to install? does that have to be coded by the programmer?


I think Auto is if the dev actually specifies if there is can be installed on the sd card it will auto install the sd.
 

bolden88

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
98
Reaction score
3
Apps2SD minus the SD

When I install .2.1 I lose all my apps and none of them are on my SD card. I have tried installing directly through "DownloadROM" and also install from SD card. Is there something else I am missing? I am back to .1 because I never write down all my apps so I can Redownload them. Time consuming. Runs really good though.
 

DF Smod

Silver Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
11,341
Reaction score
93
Disabling the auto install to SD also blocks out the move to SD option in Manage Applications for most applications. Which just goes to show how much work Pete put into being able to get Apps2SD working even beyond it's capabilities as we know it now. By replacing the '"2" with a "0" you can still move Apps2Sd in the Manage Applications menu but only the apps that developers have scripted to be compatable with Apps2SD

Once again Pete, thanks for all of your hard work!!!
 

Asterisk

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2010
Messages
280
Reaction score
0
So after my phone rebooted all the apps on my sd card are not showing up in the app drawer. I waited for my phone to finish mounting the sd card after the reboot and they still didn't show up. I even unmounted the sd card and remounted it and still nothing. Can someone help?
 
Top