Alarm Clock Enable (SS 4.3)

sixpackcuda

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Location
Minnesota
Just installed 4.3 and I'm not sure what I've done, but..

I prefer to use the default alarm clock; so I went to the terminal emulator to enable it using "mvac" and I get this:

Code:
Enabling Alarm Clock ...
Error: Can't Enable Alarm Clock ... you must have deleted it!

All I've done is install the ss rom, then the patch, then I ran "rstapps -c" and apparently somewhere in there, the alarm clock got deleted :huh:

Is there anything I can do about this?
 

Coolsaber57

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2010
Messages
345
Reaction score
0
Just installed 4.3 and I'm not sure what I've done, but..

I prefer to use the default alarm clock; so I went to the terminal emulator to enable it using "mvac" and I get this:

Code:
Enabling Alarm Clock ...
Error: Can't Enable Alarm Clock ... you must have deleted it!

All I've done is install the ss rom, then the patch, then I ran "rstapps -c" and apparently somewhere in there, the alarm clock got deleted :huh:

Is there anything I can do about this?

Have you tried going through the "clock" app and set alarms?
 

ChevyNo1

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
5,354
Reaction score
5
This was mistakenly left out - and I actually didn't think anyone used it anymore! Here it is and I will re-include in the next version:

http://chevyno1.richstevenson.com/froyo/4.3/AlarmClock.apk

Push this to /system/app


How do I push this to /system/app. It is a zip file. Do I change it to update.zip and run it like I do any other update.zip?

Are you downloading from your phone? Cause the file on my server is an apk ... you can not run this as an update.zip. If it downloads as zip, rename it to apk, and then using some sort of file explorer, push to /system/app. Or if downloaded to your PC, use 'adb push AlarmClock.apk /system/app'
 

Uglymouse

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2010
Messages
45
Reaction score
0
Location
Georgia
This was mistakenly left out - and I actually didn't think anyone used it anymore! Here it is and I will re-include in the next version:

http://chevyno1.richstevenson.com/froyo/4.3/AlarmClock.apk

Push this to /system/app


How do I push this to /system/app. It is a zip file. Do I change it to update.zip and run it like I do any other update.zip?

Are you downloading from your phone? Cause the file on my server is an apk ... you can not run this as an update.zip. If it downloads as zip, rename it to apk, and then using some sort of file explorer, push to /system/app. Or if downloaded to your PC, use 'adb push AlarmClock.apk /system/app'


Thanks! You Rock!
 
OP
sixpackcuda

sixpackcuda

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Location
Minnesota
OP
sixpackcuda

sixpackcuda

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Location
Minnesota
Alright, I'm kind of a bonehead when it comes to this stuff..

Is it possible to use the terminal emulator to push this? When I try that, I get "push: not found"

I also tried using the Linda File Manager to try and copy the apk file to system/app but it says that that folder is read only.

So I gave it a shot, but not sure what to do at this point.
 

ChevyNo1

Premium Member
Premium Member
Developer
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
5,354
Reaction score
5
Alright, I'm kind of a bonehead when it comes to this stuff..

Is it possible to use the terminal emulator to push this? When I try that, I get "push: not found"

I also tried using the Linda File Manager to try and copy the apk file to system/app but it says that that folder is read only.

So I gave it a shot, but not sure what to do at this point.

'push' is to be used with adb; which is a DIFFERENT interface to a shell ... if you are already in a term emulator, you need to have already 'pushed' the apk to somewhere on your phone, ie /sdcard

To copy to /system/app, you need to make it readable. So, in your term emulator, type sysrw, and return. Then go back to Linda and see if it will let you copy.
 

dr0idg0d23

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
296
Reaction score
5
Location
Akron, Ohio
Being that within the .zip file its in .apk format, can you not download it from browser in phone and then using androzip, extract the .apk file then select it and install.
 
OP
sixpackcuda

sixpackcuda

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Location
Minnesota
Being that within the .zip file its in .apk format, can you not download it from browser in phone and then using androzip, extract the .apk file then select it and install.

I forgot to mention that I had tried that. For some reason it said that it couldn't install.

But I was able to get it to work! Thank you Chevy

I forgot to also mention previously that I had downloaded the file in-phone. So it was sitting in my download directory. Linda wasn't happy with anything I was trying to do, regardless of what commands I executed in terminal.

So this is what I did:
su
sysrw
cp /mnt/sdcard/download/AlarmClock.apk /system/app


and it worked great! Thanks! It's nice to have this back. I've just gotten so accustomed to using it..
 

Fault

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2010
Messages
640
Reaction score
0
Yea chevy, I use weather widgets, and it has built in alarm support

Edit: how do I get it installed now?
 
Last edited:
Top