about:debug broken (1.1 and froyo)

tameone

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
260
Reaction score
0
Flashed BB 0.1 FroYo this morning. Installed flash. Typed about:debug in browser so I could enable desktop broadcast and see if I could get Hulu working. Browser just sat there, not responding to my request. I thought perhaps something was wrong with this ROM on my Droid, as I've never had a problem invoking about:debug before to change browser settings.

In an unrelated event, I nandroid restored back to BB v1.1, and about:debug still doesn't work!!

What gives?

edit: brain freeze. never mind =]
 
Last edited:

Darkseider

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
1,862
Reaction score
0
Flashed BB 0.1 FroYo this morning. Installed flash. Typed about:debug in browser so I could enable desktop broadcast and see if I could get Hulu working. Browser just sat there, not responding to my request. I thought perhaps something was wrong with this ROM on my Droid, as I've never had a problem invoking about:debug before to change browser settings.

In an unrelated event, I nandroid restored back to BB v1.1, and about:debug still doesn't work!!

What gives?

Hulu blocked us AGAIN. I was wondering about something though. Does the latest release of Fennec support Flash? If so the next question would be if the latest version of Fennec because of its' Firefox roots when about:config is typed into the address bar will it bring up the config? If so the browser agent can be changed to that of a desktop browser, say Internet Explorer 8 and then saved. Then when going to Hulu the site will parse the browser agent and see Internet Explorer 8. maybe?
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2010
Messages
108
Reaction score
0
Flashed BB 0.1 FroYo this morning. Installed flash. Typed about:debug in browser so I could enable desktop broadcast and see if I could get Hulu working. Browser just sat there, not responding to my request. I thought perhaps something was wrong with this ROM on my Droid, as I've never had a problem invoking about:debug before to change browser settings.

In an unrelated event, I nandroid restored back to BB v1.1, and about:debug still doesn't work!!

What gives?

After typing "about:debug" it will seem as if nothing happened. Hit menu, then go to settings, scroll to the bottom. The additional options are there. But you don't see anything in the browser itself like Firefox does, it just shows up in the Browser settings. Anyway, doesn't matter, Hulu blocked that workaround already.,
 

dbz443

Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2010
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Flashed BB 0.1 FroYo this morning. Installed flash. Typed about:debug in browser so I could enable desktop broadcast and see if I could get Hulu working. Browser just sat there, not responding to my request. I thought perhaps something was wrong with this ROM on my Droid, as I've never had a problem invoking about:debug before to change browser settings.

In an unrelated event, I nandroid restored back to BB v1.1, and about:debug still doesn't work!!

What gives?

After u type about:debug and press enter there is no visual response from the browser, there never was from me. After typing that I went into the settings and switched to desktop and it worked, but nothing different ever happened on the screen after I typed it and hit enter.
I just tried it again. It typed about debug into the browser and hit enter. Then I hit the menu soft key, hit more,scrolled down to uastring and hit enter. Then I switched to desktop and it works fine. Fyi hulu will not work for us right now so don't test that.
 
Last edited:

gardobus

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
0
Location
Arizona
Like the others said, it doesn't show ANYTHING when you type it in the bar and hit enter.

However it opens up a lot more Settings when you press Menu > Settings.
 
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
158
Reaction score
0
Can someone explain to me why Hulu is blocking us? I thought it was supposed to be a free internet service, is there some legal or tech issue I'm missing?
 

gardobus

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
0
Location
Arizona
I believe it is some sort of legal issue. They don't have permission/licenses to deploy all the content via mobile platforms.

Something like that.
 
OP
T

tameone

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
260
Reaction score
0
Oh lol.. yes I remember now. Sorry brain freeze this morning . Thanks!!!
 

DarkNet

Member
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
80
Reaction score
1
Location
Fargo, ND
Flashed BB 0.1 FroYo this morning. Installed flash. Typed about:debug in browser so I could enable desktop broadcast and see if I could get Hulu working. Browser just sat there, not responding to my request. I thought perhaps something was wrong with this ROM on my Droid, as I've never had a problem invoking about:debug before to change browser settings.

In an unrelated event, I nandroid restored back to BB v1.1, and about:debug still doesn't work!!

What gives?

After u type about:debug and press enter there is no visual response from the browser, there never was from me. After typing that I went into the settings and switched to desktop and it worked, but nothing different ever happened on the screen after I typed it and hit enter.
I just tried it again. It typed about debug into the browser and hit enter. Then I hit the menu soft key, hit more,scrolled down to uastring and hit enter. Then I switched to desktop and it works fine. Fyi hulu will not work for us right now so don't test that.


For mine to work about:debug along did not work. I had to to the following:

about:debug
then
about:config
Menu -> More -> Settings
this allowed me to get into the extra options.
 
Top