z4root not working for me

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mitchb2, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just ran z4root on my Droid 1. It finishes and says my phone is now rooted, but both SetCPU and BusyBox tell me that my phone is not rooted, so they can't run.
     
  2. wsbsteven

    wsbsteven Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    youtube.com/wimervision
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you clear your super user app permissions in case that is causing the problem.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tablet
     
  3. mikeyrocks

    mikeyrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are two z4root apps in the market, one with some japanese symbols and one in all english. I used the foreign one first and it did the same thing, I uninstalled and installed the english one and it rooted first try...hope this helps.
     
  4. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I used the one that's in English.

    I don't know how to do "superuser" that's mentioned above.
    I just thought I could run z4root without having to know all the stuff that goes on behind the scenes. :)
     
  5. mikeyrocks

    mikeyrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dude, I did the same thing, and it really hurt me in the long run...it is super important to know all the big terms involved in rooting and flashing...because I almost bricked my phone just the other day...if you go to the market and install "wireless tether for rooted" and it will tell you specifically if you are rooted or not, if not, then uninstall the z4, reinstall, reboot before attempting to root, and then try to root. That's the extent of my technological knowledge haha. Sorry I couldn't be of more help.
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    It makes a big difference. Use the one in English.
     
  7. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rebooted and ran z4 again. This time Wireless Tether tells me I'm rooted. When I run SetCPU it says it doesn't have root access.

    I open Superuser but can't find any way to grant root access.
     
  8. mikeyrocks

    mikeyrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weird, I never had a problem with superuser, actually, I haven't even used it since it was downloaded. I just allow root programs to access its privileges. As long as superuser is there and tether works, I believe that means you're rooted.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  9. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep losing root. Wireless tether says I'm rooted and so does z4. I open super user and it's blank. I go back to wireless tether and it says I'm not rooted.
     
  10. uthguy9

    uthguy9 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    z4root - su not working

    The same problem as few people reported. Permission denied after running perm root. The Superuser icon stays, I click on it and get message:

    There is a new version of the su binary available. Press OK to attempt to install it.

    I do that and get:

    Error - su not updated. File su-2.3.1-bin-signed.[COLOR=#00C800 ! important][COLOR=#00C800 ! important]zip[/COLOR][/COLOR] has been placed on your SD. Reboot into recovery and flash it.

    So I do that and:

    failed to open /[COLOR=#00C800 ! important][COLOR=#00C800 ! important]sdcard[/COLOR][/COLOR][​IMG]
    /update.zip (No such file or directory)
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation aborted

    What's the deal?
     
  11. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's exactly what happened to me.
    I'm not confident enough now to root without doing all the research, and it's just not important enough for me to spend the time. So I guess I give up on the "one-click" root.
     
  12. mikeyrocks

    mikeyrocks New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's really unfortunate, it ran flawlessly on my phone and I am thrilled with how much better my phone is running after installing a custom ROM...I'd give it one more go if I were you, uninstall any "root related" apps you've installed, reinstall z4 root (English), root, install ROM Manager, and Wireless Tether, and see what happens...I have heard so many success stories from z4, it was great for a noob like me. Sorry bro.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
how to tell if z4root worked
,
z4 root not working
,
z4root app not installed
,
z4root application not installed
,
z4root could not be installed on this phone
,
z4root not installing
,
z4root not rooting my phone
,

z4root not working

,
z4root su permission denied
,
z4root superuser