1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

z4root failing on Droid1

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Durania, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. Durania
    Offline

    Durania New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Running the FRG83D, 2.2.1 version of froyo from the OTA update. The z4root will run for a minute, change to "acquiring root shell" then the app closes and will not re-open. I have rebooted about 10 times and have no clue. Yes, USB debugging is enabled. Is this one of those things where I need to wait until it is patched for this newer version?

    Thanks.
  2. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  3. neccoguy21
    Offline

    neccoguy21 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    catch 22

    I ran into a catch22 with this app on my friends droid1, it would get caught in a loop and never finish. I found a guide that said it needed a custom recovery to move out of this loop and finish the process. IT suggested an app such as ClockworkMod Rom Manager so it can load a different recovery such as the ClockworkMod Recovery or SPRecovery, but Rom Manager can't load a new recovery without being rooted and having superuser permissions. z4root provides superuser permissions, but wont work until another app already has superuser permissions to setup the phone properly for z4root to work in the first place... wtf?
  4. Durania
    Offline

    Durania New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    I finally rooted the other day using SuperOneClick and been extremely happy with it.
  5. AuxiliaryPie
    Offline

    AuxiliaryPie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    superoneclick worked on FRG83D?
  6. Durania
    Offline

    Durania New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    It sure did.
  7. AuxiliaryPie
    Offline

    AuxiliaryPie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you da man. im gonna try it out now
  8. Durania
    Offline

    Durania New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    It took me no more than 5 minutes the other day when I was at work. Let me know if you get it working. It was pretty painless.
  9. AuxiliaryPie
    Offline

    AuxiliaryPie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup just did it, took about 30sec lol. posting this from my droids free wifi hotspot!
  10. Durania
    Offline

    Durania New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Hell yeah dude. I love it.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  11. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    z4root doesn't work on FRG83D. This has been a known issue for days. SuperOneClick does work. Downgrading your OS to 22D with the master OTA file so you keep all your data and then using z4root works. MotoCache1's Root Any OS thread from link 2 in my signature works.
  12. IRON_CATASTROPHE
    Offline

    IRON_CATASTROPHE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    is there any sort of catch to super one click or any steps i should follow?? LOL
  13. Durania
    Offline

    Durania New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Open the executable on your computer and plug your Droid in and click the button. If I recall...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  14. IRON_CATASTROPHE
    Offline

    IRON_CATASTROPHE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    is there a place i can download super one click without having to sign up for anything though?
  15. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Nope.

    However, all you're signing up for at XDA is a free account. No spam, etc. And XDA has a LOT of goodies you may find useful at some point. :)
  16. IRON_CATASTROPHE
    Offline

    IRON_CATASTROPHE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    alritey then thats good to know :):):)

    Thanks again man!
  17. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Happy to help. :)
  18. Why Flounder
    Offline

    Why Flounder New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Would you recommend superoneclick for someone only wanting to root for wireless tether? I am new to this but have done a lot of reading and feel comfortable but a little scared.
  19. IRON_CATASTROPHE
    Offline

    IRON_CATASTROPHE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    I would recommend it (which droid phone are you currently using?) If you are using the D1 and superoneclick fails you then use the link posted in furbearingmammals signature. It works flawlessly and will have you rooted safely as long as follow the directions
  20. Why Flounder
    Offline

    Why Flounder New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes D1. Based upon your reply do you mean I might run into more problems with the superoneclick? I have read the thread in the signature and feel comfortable with most of it.
Search tags for this page
droid 1 z4root
,
soluton to failed to aquiring root shell
,
superoneclick+failure rootshell
,
why does z4root close after acquiring root shell
,
will not complete loading z4root shell
,
z4 root droid 1
,
z4 root for droid 1
,
z4rood wont aquire shells
,
z4root aquiring root shell
,
z4root droid
,

z4root droid 1

,
z4root exits on acquiring shell
,
z4root fails
,
z4root for android 2.2.1
,
z4root it says acquiring root shell then it exit