z4root failing on Droid1

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Durania, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. Durania

    Durania Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Running the FRG83D, 2.2.1 version of froyo from the OTA update. The z4root will run for a minute, change to "acquiring root shell" then the app closes and will not re-open. I have rebooted about 10 times and have no clue. Yes, USB debugging is enabled. Is this one of those things where I need to wait until it is patched for this newer version?

    Thanks.
     
  2. LifeIsABeach

    LifeIsABeach Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  3. neccoguy21

    neccoguy21 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    catch 22

    I ran into a catch22 with this app on my friends droid1, it would get caught in a loop and never finish. I found a guide that said it needed a custom recovery to move out of this loop and finish the process. IT suggested an app such as ClockworkMod Rom Manager so it can load a different recovery such as the ClockworkMod Recovery or SPRecovery, but Rom Manager can't load a new recovery without being rooted and having superuser permissions. z4root provides superuser permissions, but wont work until another app already has superuser permissions to setup the phone properly for z4root to work in the first place... wtf?
     
  4. Durania

    Durania Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I finally rooted the other day using SuperOneClick and been extremely happy with it.
     
  5. AuxiliaryPie

    AuxiliaryPie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    superoneclick worked on FRG83D?
     
  6. Durania

    Durania Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    It sure did.
     
  7. AuxiliaryPie

    AuxiliaryPie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    you da man. im gonna try it out now
     
  8. Durania

    Durania Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    It took me no more than 5 minutes the other day when I was at work. Let me know if you get it working. It was pretty painless.
     
  9. AuxiliaryPie

    AuxiliaryPie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    yup just did it, took about 30sec lol. posting this from my droids free wifi hotspot!
     
  10. Durania

    Durania Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hell yeah dude. I love it.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    z4root doesn't work on FRG83D. This has been a known issue for days. SuperOneClick does work. Downgrading your OS to 22D with the master OTA file so you keep all your data and then using z4root works. MotoCache1's Root Any OS thread from link 2 in my signature works.
     
  12. IRON_CATASTROPHE

    IRON_CATASTROPHE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there any sort of catch to super one click or any steps i should follow?? LOL
     
  13. Durania

    Durania Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Crossville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Open the executable on your computer and plug your Droid in and click the button. If I recall...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  14. IRON_CATASTROPHE

    IRON_CATASTROPHE Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there a place i can download super one click without having to sign up for anything though?
     
  15. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Nope.

    However, all you're signing up for at XDA is a free account. No spam, etc. And XDA has a LOT of goodies you may find useful at some point. :)
     
Similar Threads
  1. ChefBoyLp
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    4,226
  2. kwod8832
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  3. Dj Carpenter
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,902
  4. ghettolightshow
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  5. palindrome
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,099
Loading...
Search tags for this page
droid 1 z4root
,
superoneclick+failure rootshell
,
z4 root droid 1
,
z4 root for droid 1
,
z4root aquiring root shell
,
z4root droid
,

z4root droid 1

,
z4root exits on acquiring shell
,
z4root fails
,
z4root for android 2.2.1