Youtube HQ apk

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by alucardx, May 24, 2010.

  1. alucardx

    alucardx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. Big Cam

    Big Cam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Ratings:
    +0
    I registered and downloaded it, it actually works great. I guess it's the youtube app that will come with froyo.

    For those addictied to youtube this is a must have.

    I've uploaded it for the DF community. Not sure why an android forum wouldn't allow an apk file, so I zipped it

    Once downloaded, go to Astro file manager, open the app browser, install the updates, and then open youtube go to settings and choose HQ as the default.

    If the widget doesn't work, you may need to restart your phone and then re-add the widget. A little 2.2 goodness early.

    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  3. dclutter1

    dclutter1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very nice. I was trying to get the ability to set HQ as default a while ago. All I found was a hack that seemed unstable with no recent posts.
     
  4. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    This isnt just the youtube hacked version, this is a different app?
     
  5. Big Cam

    Big Cam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Ratings:
    +0
    From my understanding this is the update that will be coming with froyo.(taken from android cental)

    When you install it it is actually an update to the youtube app, not a replacement.

    Also you can uninstall this update from Astro at any time as well.
     
  6. alucardx

    alucardx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    that's my understanding as well, it's an update to the built-in youtube app.

    i've also read it may break some other utilities that interface with youtube for downloading videos..
     
  7. Big Cam

    Big Cam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have no complaints with it so far.
     
  8. allen2oo3

    allen2oo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ifl

    10 char
     
  9. papy72

    papy72 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is HQ mode?

    Until the droid supports flash I have little use for youtube, as most of the stuff I want to see on there are FLV files. :(
     
  10. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,643
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +27
    HQ = High Quality Mode
     
  11. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only works with wifi on, not 3G. If you are rooted and already have the HQ hack applied to YouTube, I would not switch to this.

    To the person who said the hack was not stable, sounds like a problem on your end. The HQ hack has worked perfectly for me since the day it was released.
     
  12. Zargon

    Zargon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Under settings there is an option to always default to high quality video. I checked the option, and it seems to work for me on 3G.
     
  13. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to Kellex (who runs the droid-life.com site), "For those worried about the HQ playback not being automatic, you have to be on WiFi."

    So you're saying that videos automatically default to HQ every time on 3G without having to hit the HQ option each time?
     
  14. Zargon

    Zargon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I just tested about 20 different videos, before and after a reboot and every one of them defaulted to HQ. Before the option was checked, they were the standard quality by default.
     
  15. DroidHoff

    DroidHoff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody else having issues with the widget being unresponsive? At first it will work but then the widget changes and shows a video preview, a record button, and a search button and then both the search and record buttons are unresponsive. This only happens to me when the record button appears on the widget. I've tried this on cyanogen and bb.
     
Search tags for this page
download youtube apk file
,
widget do youtube apk
,
widget youtube apk
,
youtube 2010 apk
,

youtube apk 2010

,
youtube apk files for droid x2
,
youtube downloader hq apk
,
youtube file hack apk download
,

youtube hq apk

,
youtube widget for website apk file