Youtube HQ apk

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by alucardx, May 24, 2010.

  1. alucardx
    Offline

    alucardx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
  2. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    I registered and downloaded it, it actually works great. I guess it's the youtube app that will come with froyo.

    For those addictied to youtube this is a must have.

    I've uploaded it for the DF community. Not sure why an android forum wouldn't allow an apk file, so I zipped it

    Once downloaded, go to Astro file manager, open the app browser, install the updates, and then open youtube go to settings and choose HQ as the default.

    If the widget doesn't work, you may need to restart your phone and then re-add the widget. A little 2.2 goodness early.

    Cheers

    Attached Files:

  3. dclutter1
    Offline

    dclutter1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very nice. I was trying to get the ability to set HQ as default a while ago. All I found was a hack that seemed unstable with no recent posts.
  4. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    This isnt just the youtube hacked version, this is a different app?
  5. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    From my understanding this is the update that will be coming with froyo.(taken from android cental)

    When you install it it is actually an update to the youtube app, not a replacement.

    Also you can uninstall this update from Astro at any time as well.
  6. alucardx
    Offline

    alucardx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    that's my understanding as well, it's an update to the built-in youtube app.

    i've also read it may break some other utilities that interface with youtube for downloading videos..
  7. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    I have no complaints with it so far.
  8. allen2oo3
    Offline

    allen2oo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ifl

    10 char
  9. papy72
    Offline

    papy72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is HQ mode?

    Until the droid supports flash I have little use for youtube, as most of the stuff I want to see on there are FLV files. :(
  10. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    HQ = High Quality Mode
  11. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Only works with wifi on, not 3G. If you are rooted and already have the HQ hack applied to YouTube, I would not switch to this.

    To the person who said the hack was not stable, sounds like a problem on your end. The HQ hack has worked perfectly for me since the day it was released.
  12. Zargon
    Offline

    Zargon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Under settings there is an option to always default to high quality video. I checked the option, and it seems to work for me on 3G.
  13. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    According to Kellex (who runs the droid-life.com site), "For those worried about the HQ playback not being automatic, you have to be on WiFi."

    So you're saying that videos automatically default to HQ every time on 3G without having to hit the HQ option each time?
  14. Zargon
    Offline

    Zargon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I just tested about 20 different videos, before and after a reboot and every one of them defaulted to HQ. Before the option was checked, they were the standard quality by default.
  15. DroidHoff
    Offline

    DroidHoff New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anybody else having issues with the widget being unresponsive? At first it will work but then the widget changes and shows a video preview, a record button, and a search button and then both the search and record buttons are unresponsive. This only happens to me when the record button appears on the widget. I've tried this on cyanogen and bb.
  16. JXSi
    Offline

    JXSi New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can anyone give me a quick walkthrough using the apk file and applying it to the current youtube app using astro? thanks..
  17. JXSi
    Offline

    JXSi New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think my biggest problem is navigating through astro
  18. JXSi
    Offline

    JXSi New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nevermind.. got it
  19. mach330
    Offline

    mach330 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The OC
    yeah..widget is not working great for me. i also don't like how you can't click on it without viewing the current video that's being previewed. so i don't use the widget for now.
  20. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    I'm just going to wait for 2.2.... I'm never too far away from a laptop or desktop with HD, and even if i'm not, standard is fine, not sure what the big deal is about high quality, yawn
Search tags for this page
download hacked youtube apk
,
download youtube apk file
,

widget do youtube apk

,

widget youtube apk

,
youtube 2010 apk
,

youtube apk 2010

,
youtube apk files for droid x2
,
youtube apk tablet froyo
,
youtube downloader hq apk
,
youtube file hack apk download
,
youtube hack apk
,

youtube hq apk

,
youtube widget for website apk file