YOUTUBE HQ .apk

Discussion in 'Koush' started by Porterhouse0, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. Porterhouse0
    Offline

    Porterhouse0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i found a .apk file about 2 weeks ago that patched my youtube.apk file to HQ by default....does anyone have this .apk file? if so please post. and im sorry i had to make a whole thread but i have no idea where i found it the first time.
  2. Womp
    Offline

    Womp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
  3. droiddadi
    Offline

    droiddadi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any ideas how to apply the patch?
  4. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    You can always just download a ROM that has the HQ YouTube hack, pop the APK file out of the ROM and use ADB to push it to your phone. Worked fine for me.
  5. Porterhouse0
    Offline

    Porterhouse0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    thanks man!! not sure why this hack isnt a standard in all new custom roms lol
  6. Womp
    Offline

    Womp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Just rename it to update.zip and install it via recovery....then reboot.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  7. Alex K.
    Offline

    Alex K. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    worked for me.
  8. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,274
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    what exactly does this do for us?
  9. Porterhouse0
    Offline

    Porterhouse0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    it makes your youtube videos play in high quality by default. im not sure if smoked glass (which i see ur running) has that hack in it because ive never installed it. but if u go to ur youtube app and play a video...does it play videos in normal quality by default? if so this will change that so when u play a video it will play in high quality by default instead. its worth it
  10. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,274
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I could swear that right after I got to this site there was a post about how to set your phone to play in HQ by default. No apps, no rooting necessary.

    In fact, every time I watch a video and click the menu>more, there's an option I can select to watch in normal quality.

    There must be a setting.
  11. Porterhouse0
    Offline

    Porterhouse0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    if u watch a youtube video and hit menu>more and you see "watch in normal quality" then u already have HQ by default. smoked glass must have that hack in the ROM. so ur good to go already. you should download the .zip file provided by WOMP anyway incase u install a ROM without that hack. :icon_ banana:
  12. Womp
    Offline

    Womp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    AdamZ Smoked ROM has it included as an on/off option in the ROM installation, quite a few ROMs have it as far as I can tell in general...Actually Cyanogen here is the first time I've experienced where it isn't an option out of the gate. In any case, it is one the cool tweaks I enjoy with a rooted Droid. ;)
  13. Porterhouse0
    Offline

    Porterhouse0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol i agree
  14. Alex K.
    Offline

    Alex K. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Droid = a learning experience

    F*ck it up, fix it, profit :D
  15. J*Bishop
    Offline

    J*Bishop New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can i run this using the stock rom? for what it's worth i'm rooted.
  16. Alex K.
    Offline

    Alex K. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Yes you can, but if you weren't rooted it would be a no-go.
  17. Womp
    Offline

    Womp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    BTW, I can't take credit for this file...I found it some time ago during my travels. I just tend to hold onto stuff on my Droid's download folder for times like this. :p heh.
  18. Daybreak
    Offline

    Daybreak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    usa
    Howdy,

    I just messed around with my Droid and figured something out.

    I have watched youtube video before and always had to click more > high quality

    I have now signed into my youtube account which is merged with my gmail account. After I am signed on, it remembers that this unit uses high quality video. Now I do not have to make that selection to watch in high quality.

    So, sign into your youtube account, it will then default to high quality. :) :icon_ banana:
  19. Porterhouse0
    Offline

    Porterhouse0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    you sure youre not just running a ROM that has the HQ hack already installed? what ROM are u running
  20. Daybreak
    Offline

    Daybreak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    usa
    OOps, I was looking thru new post. I see this is under the hacks-custo roms..

    sorry,

    nope, pure moto droid forced 2.1 update, thats all at the moment. No root, no rom, not o/c

    I guess I will post the finding out under the general droid area.

    Have a good one
Search tags for this page
hacked youtube apk
,
how to change youtube app to play on reg instead of hq
,
hq. apk
,
youtube for tablets apk
,
youtube hack apk
,
youtube hacker qpk
,
youtube hq .apk
,

youtube hq apk

,
youtube hq.apk
,
youtube patch .apk
,

youtube tablet apk

,
youtubepatch.apk