youtube high quality

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by w0lfinator, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. w0lfinator
    Offline

    w0lfinator New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone heard of anyway to 'lock' high quality on youtube?? I am never going to watch a youtube video in low quality(the default load of the video), i change it to high quality immediately on opening the video.. Is there anyway to lock this setting so I don't have to always go to settings and hit High Quality?
  2. Googleaddict
    Offline

    Googleaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    I dont think you can.When you watch youtube videos on wifi it does automatically play as high quality
  3. 640k
    Offline

    640k Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    it does??? are you sure? i'll have to check that out. seems like i've always had to select it, no matter what network i'm on.

    HQ kind of pisses me off tho. not sure why the videos are THAT much more data that it takes 5x as long to load on 3G.
  4. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    We can only hope this becomes an option in an update. With such a beautiful screen and unlimited data, why wouldn't we always want the videos to play in HQ?
  5. 640k
    Offline

    640k Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    probably for the reasons i just posted... it takes 5x as long to load an HQ video as it does SQ.
  6. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC

    I have noticed a small difference in loading time, but not enough to keep me from switching to HQ each time...
  7. Thanassi44
    Offline

    Thanassi44 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Astoria, NY
    agreed. I want HQ default also. I've only noticed an extra second or 2 of typical loading time and I can definitely live with that. choosing the option for every video is annoying.
  8. darreno1
    Offline

    darreno1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Have to agree here as well. The difference in load time is hardly an issue for me for the most part. I hope this becomes an option.
  9. New2u
    Online

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    When i did it, i could barely notice the difference in load time. I would like an option, not saying I would use it, but it would be nice to at least have the option to lock it in.
  10. boatman2220
    Offline

    boatman2220 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep if you watch YouTube on Wi-Fi it is in high quality, touch the menu button as you would to get high quality on 3G and you are asked if you want to watch in normal mode.
Search tags for this page
how to stop youtube videos loading in hq android
,

never play higher quality on youtube, android

,
what does hq stand for on you tube videos
,

why do my hq videos on youtube lag on my droid incredible 2

,
why does it take so long for my android phone to play youtub
,
why does it take so long for youtube to load on a s3
,
why does it tke so long for youtube videos to play on androi
,

why does youtube take so long to change quality

,
why does youtube take so long to liad on my android
,

why does youtube take so long to load on my android

,
why is youtube taking so long to load on my s3
,
youtube taking too long to load