1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Your thoughts on the design aesthetics of the Droid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by cyber3d, Dec 25, 2009.

1. cyber3d

cyber3d New Member

Anyone know who designed the Droid? As a former industrial designer I'd guess that it was designed in the USA. I doubt very much that it's design team came from Great Britain (I believe the Palm Treo was designed in GB - they seem to hate adding reveals to their products) and it looks too aggressive to have been designed in Japan. I'd even bet it was designed on the East Coast and not on the West Coast. Personally, I really like the design. It's got the feel of a finely crafted hand gun. All business. I even like the weight - heavy. Sure, it has it's share of dislikes but, it's a classic from the get go.
  2. sillyrabbitt123

sillyrabbitt123 New Member

I cannot put it down :) Enough Said!! :)
  3. Backnblack

Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

I can't envision it being any other way...
  4. JayMonster

JayMonster New Member

In theory at least it was designed in the "midwest" (Schaumberg, IL if memory serves correctly) with input from the West Coast (mountainview, CA).

Motorola has a history of "over-engineering" their phones (certainly seems to hold true in the case of the Droid). And it was said that Google had some input (and even asked them to soften and round the corners slightly from an even boxier pre-build.
  5. jasonb

jasonb New Member

i love it. it's rock solid and has good weight to it. i work at a Radio Shack and just about all the phones we sell feel like toys in comparison.
  6. dezymond

dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

feels real good in the hands.

the only thing i think is it weighs a bit much, supposedly heavier than my old Tilt, but I always felt the Tilt weighed more.