Your device has been modified. Software updates are not available - Please help!

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Note 2' started by jonj123, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    No. If the phone is rooted and has a custom rom flashed then a factory reset wont fix that issue. You will have to flash the stock recovery in order to get the phone completely stock.

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
  2. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Are you using the original Samsung USB cable? If you aren't that could be part of the problem. Those drivers should be compatible with windows 7. Do you have another computer you can try out? Try switching USB ports on your computer. Make sure that when you connect your phone to your computer the phone isn't connecting as an installer. You want it to be on mass storage.

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
    1 person likes this.
  3. jonj123
    Offline

    jonj123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. I finally managed to get the phone to connect to my laptop. If I unroot my device and return it to factory settings will the phone not be unlocked anymore?
  4. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Right. The bootloader will be locked again.

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
  5. jonj123
    Offline

    jonj123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. Would it be difficult to unlock it again?
  6. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    No not at all. It's fairly simple to do.

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
  7. Dr.Android
    Offline

    Dr.Android New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Qualcomm cdma tec... explanation.

    :biggrin:To help with your answer.. I did this to get mine working again on Galaxy note 2 tmobile.. go to the dial-er like you where going to make a call, press *#7284#. Screen will pop up and you will see UART and make sure PDA is highlighted. Next on the same page on the USB also highlight PDA. Now go to Qualcomm USB Settings on the bottom and press it. Now you will see that your in phone is in PhoneUtil.. Make sure you press MTP+ADB and press ok. Now press Save and Reset. Phone should boot on it's own and back to stock as far as Qualcomm CDMA issues go. Hope this helps everyone out with this particular issue. Cheers!!:D 20140619_020955.jpg
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 your device has been modified
,
galaxy s4 your device has been modified
,

your device has been modified

,
your device has been modified fix
,

your device has been modified note 2

,
your device has been modified s3
,
your device has been modified s4
,

your device has been modified software updates are not avail

,
your device has been modified software updates are not available
,

your device has been modified. software updates are not avai