1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

You cannot call the police??? WTF?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by Frank2211, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. Frank2211
    Offline

    Frank2211 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I installed a dialer app (dialer one and Tochpal Dialer) and I am satisfied with them.

    However, I found a major bug in all dialers, so I guess it is OS related.
    When you dial a three number code like 911, 110 (not 222) the application will not dial in 80 % of the time. Which is a very bad bug as these numbers are emergency numbers and always should work!
    I figured this bug out because I had to call the police and could not!
    These things just cannot happen! I spend the last hour looking for a dialer that suits my needs (one touch dial/ nearly all) AND works 100% all the time!
    I tried rocket dial (paid app) and it has the same issue.
    Anyone knows any dialer that works?
    Is this bug known to be android or droid razr related? In addition, when will it be fixed?

    I think this is a serious issue and should be dealt accordingly…

    Kind regards
    Frank
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  2. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,433
    Likes Received:
    288
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    are you 100% stock? or running a custom rom (isn't there one now for the Razr? :))?

    I had to dial 911 recently on my Bionic - first time I've ever dialed 911 on a cellphone... it goes into some sort of emergency mode for a few minutes after that - maybe it doesn't use minutes? I don't know... I'm wondering if that caused the error - but just guessing.
  3. Frank2211
    Offline

    Frank2211 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi jntdroid.
    Thx for answering to this important thread.
    My RAZR is 100% out of the box.
    What is does is to ask me which application should handle..."the call". I think this is because I had several dialer apps installed. If you select the same dialer app you tried to place the call with to handle .. "the call", you simply cannot dial 911 !
    After I selected the standard telephone app to handle "the call" it pastes the emergency number into the standard dialer app.

    Plain and simple put: It does NOT dial after pressing "110" and "Dial". Or 911 for that matter...!
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  4. ddfuji
    Offline

    ddfuji New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    WhaTS wrong with the stock dialer???

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  5. Frank2211
    Offline

    Frank2211 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. ddfuji
    Offline

    ddfuji New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    not really off subject when you went from something that could dial 911 to something that couldn't dial 911 (big issue). at this point your gonna have to decide if you would rather have a phone dialer that's better looking/easier to use or or a phone dialer that allows you to dial 911 that could possibly save your life. it looks like all these apps are having the same issue. i think the stock dialer works just fine, but that's my personal opinion. that link did have some good points about the stock dialer. you can keep looking around and maybe there will be one that works. it could be that the razr is so fresh that development is more focused on unlocking the phone and getting custom roms for ppl. maybe with custom roms we can possibly have a working/better dialer. maybe this dialer issue cant be fixed till the razr is unlocked. but who knows. all speculation.
  7. Frank2211
    Offline

    Frank2211 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I see. That’s exactly why I first tried to change settings on the stock dialer to change it to my needs before I downloaded an app.
    As I seem not be the only one with that issue:
    TouchPal Dialer - Android app on AppBrain

    I asked if there is a working app. If there is not I will have to live with a second best solution.
    As all dialers seem to have the same problem Google and/or Motorola really should look into this. And of course the people building custom roms.
    To collect hints, get to know the reasons for this bug and maybe find a solution I created this thread…!
  8. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Yeah it does not charge you minutes for emergency calls, and it also boosts your signal in case you are in a poor reception area. Any cell phone even one without service can call 911, which is why we tell people that let their babies play with their phones to take the battery out. Because every time those greasy little bastards end up calling 911, try explaining to a 1 year old to give the phone to mommy so we can chew her out for being dumb. :)
  9. ChristieLeeEMT
    Offline

    ChristieLeeEMT New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dialer is ok.

    @sydman, u wouldn't happen to be an emergency dispatcher would u? LOL

    I don't have any major issues with the stock dialer. I like the one on my original droid better, but this one does work, so I'm not gonna "fix" what isn't broken, u know?
  10. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is pretty interesting. I wonder if it's just with his Razr or other phones with custom dialers.
  11. Jonas
    Offline

    Jonas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Emergency mode also enables what's called E911. Its a nifty little feautre that uses brute force to force your phone to turn on GPS and if your call is lost, for whatever reason, the location of the phone is sent to the dispatcher. Its a huge safety feature, and there's no way to turn it off. I would be worried my phone couldn't dial 911, but I would report this to the dev of the app. He might shed some light on it.

    Sent from my Banana Phone
  12. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,590
    Likes Received:
    816
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Absolutely spot on. It also keeps emergency mode on for several minutes after you hang up, during which your GPS location is being logged. Again, it's designed for your protection.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  13. Jonas
    Offline

    Jonas New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    If I'm not mistaken, it was a bill that was passed by congress a year or two back that made it a law that all phones must have it now.

    Sent from my Banana Phone
  14. blahblah2
    Offline

    blahblah2 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have a MORAL IMPERATIVE to immediately make this aware to the developer of the app AND Android market

    I would not want to be in your shoes right now if someone unkowingly was injured or killed because this bug was not shared with the above people. I trust you have done this already.
  15. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So it's the OP's fault that ALL the dialer apps seem to have that bug? So he's supposed to single out every developer of a dialer app and let them know, and it's HIS moral imperitive?

    I think he did fine making a thread about it. I don't think it's the OP's responsibility if somone dies or gets hurt, and I don't think it's your place to come in here and make him feel like it is.

    He's a freakin' Droid user on a forum just like the rest of us, not Ralph Nader........
  16. Frank2211
    Offline

    Frank2211 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Calm down, I did write most of the developers I could get a hold on. Only one answered:


    Michał Motyczko mozarcik@gmail.com 19.12.11
    Hey,

    Sorry for not responding. I know about that issue and already tried to fix it but it seems that android won't allow to directly dial emergency numbers like 911, 112 and maybe other. I think this permission is available only to system apps unfortunatelly :( What dialer works for you all the time? I would like to check it and maybe contact dev to ask how it is done - maybe there is a way :)

    Regards

    So why don't you go ahead blahblah2, now that you know, and try to get hold on someone from Googles Android Team??

    And while you are at it, try to find a dialer that works and pass that information to Michał Motyczko.

    Thanks anyway to Dave12308.

    Frank
  17. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Since this got a nice 5 month bump....lol. The developer that responded, I believe, is correct. Google made it so only system apps can do certain tasks (clear voice mail notifications, missed call notifications, etc) and dialing 911 may fall under this category. I am rooted and will install this app as a system app and then try and report my findings back to this thread. Since I don't really want to call 911....lol. Can you tell me what happens when you try to dial? Call failed message or anything?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2012
  18. JohnnytheK
    Offline

    JohnnytheK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ah so that explains it, a week ago while walking my dogs I heard gun shots. I called 911 and reported it. Several minutes after I was stuck in this wierd mode. Thanks.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
  19. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Yea man I saw the thread in the latest n figured it was sometin new, not from December haha. That is crazy tho, glad I love the way my ROM looks and the dialer so I wouldn't need to change the phone.apk, but that's a pretty bad time to figure out That 911 doesn't work, when u absolutely need to call it...yikes.
    Does definitely sound like it's somethin to do about it not being a /system app like the normal dialer or phone apk. I'm guessing only system apps would have access to the E911 features.

    Sent from my OG using DroidForums
  20. bens42608
    Offline

    bens42608 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All devs should have to explain this very clearly b4 any1 downloads their dialer app. It would suck if I was being murdered n the killer turned his back n I had like 2 seconds to dial 911 n the dialer wouldn't work. Gotta fricken uninstall it or switch back to stock dialer and get shot in the process

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
android 911 emergency mode
,
android dial 911
,

android emergency dialer

,
android will not dial 911
,
called 911 on droid and it went into emergency mode
,
cannot add emergency number 911 to my sumsung galaxy s3
,
cant dial 911 on android
,
dialer one 911
,
droid razr emergency mode
,
emergency dialer andriod numbers
,

emergency dialer android

,
how to dial 911 on android
,
htc rezound unable dial 911
,
process com.mozarcik
,
process com.mozarcik dile