Yet another bricked droid problem.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by patracles, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. patracles
    Offline

    patracles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay so here is my situation. I had a 2.2 FRG22D stock Droid 1. I used rsdlite and sprecovery to root it. I then downloaded ROM Manager and flashed to ClockworkMod recovery. I used clockwork recovery to make a backup of my rom, and then all hell broke loose. After rebooting I get to a black screen "bootloader 2c.7c battery ok, OK to program, Connect USB Data Cable". I'm sure you guys know the screen.

    Anyway, I have tried everything to restore my phone that I have researched. Tried flashing my backup, didn't work. Tried flashing to original 2.2 FRG01B, didn't work. Tried flashing cyanogen, didn't work. Tried flashing 2.01, didn't work.

    Is there anything else I can try? This sucks.
  2. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    So you tried using RSDlite to flash the sbf again?
  3. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
  4. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YOU ARE NOT BRICKED.
    Bricked means it won't even turn on.

    Can you get to recovery?
    You're in bootloader now.
    If you can get to recovery flash your backup.
  5. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Sounds like you did everything in the right order.

    What method did you used to root? you need to use link 3 in my sig.

    So I understand, you can still boot to Clockwork, but it won't boot up all the way and if you flash a backup nothing changes AND if you have flash an .sbf still no change? If this is all correct you might have a hardware issue.
  6. patracles
    Offline

    patracles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. I actually went back to sprecovery, then tried all that I mentioned. Whenever I try flashing from an SBF, it hangs at 99% in rsd lite, then reboots, shows the "M" logo then right back to the same bootloader 2c.7c screen. It seems like the original SBF would work, but just right back to bootloader
  7. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    When you flash the sbf, you need to "catch the boot" Its a pain to do it, the last phone I did took 6 tries to get it right. Basically, you need to hit the X on the keyboard, just as it starts to reboot.
  8. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    plus one, good call, forgot about that!
  9. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
  10. CD95YJ
    Offline

    CD95YJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Your problem could very well be that you are trying to flash frg01b. Try flashing frg22d to see if it breaks the bootloader and let's you back into your phone. I would assume that since your flashed ROM is for the frg22d build you are running into a conflict. I had the same issue with my droid 2. They had an update 2 weeks ago and when trying to flash the old sbf file tonight I got stuck in the bootloader like you. I had to use the current sbf to get it to boot up.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  11. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I know their are a lot of questions being asked, but could you possibly tell us what the error it error'd out on was?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yes. More information could prove to be VERY helpful.
  13. patracles
    Offline

    patracles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know where the very latest sbf is?
  14. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Sorry Bob, but it's hold up on the dpad to "catch the boot". OP use the link Bob provided or link 3 in my sig and follow the instructions exactly.
  15. patracles
    Offline

    patracles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On a side note, I finally got it to "PASS" in RSD lite... but still bootloader.. thought i had it!
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    You can find a download here.

    Droid
  17. EARL97850
    Offline

    EARL97850 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I fell into this category too. My D1 will turn on and display "ANDROID" only...never anything else. I have to remove the battery to get to the boot loader screen or by pressing the "X" button on the keypad to get the triangle then nothing else happens.

    I'm screwed.

    Please help!!!

    Cya
  18. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    The triangle screen is the stock recovery menu. You'll want to do a factory reset. When you get to that screen you'll need to press the volume up and camera button at the same time, and that will get you into the menu proper. Now you'll want to wipe the data on your phone.

    If you still have the problem after doing this wipe we'll try to help. :)
  19. EARL97850
    Offline

    EARL97850 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing happens after I press the two together

    Also when I use RSDLight it always fails. The phone's screen never changes from the "Bootloader 2C.7C" Down farther on the screen it says "Battery Ok" "Ok to Program" "Transfer Mode: USB" It never changes on the screen at all.

    Cya
  20. EARL97850
    Offline

    EARL97850 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's still the same this morning. I was hoping that it was all a bad dream and it would just all go away.......no deal.

    I'm still screwed!!!

    Cya