Yet another bricked droid problem.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by patracles, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. patracles

    patracles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay so here is my situation. I had a 2.2 FRG22D stock Droid 1. I used rsdlite and sprecovery to root it. I then downloaded ROM Manager and flashed to ClockworkMod recovery. I used clockwork recovery to make a backup of my rom, and then all hell broke loose. After rebooting I get to a black screen "bootloader 2c.7c battery ok, OK to program, Connect USB Data Cable". I'm sure you guys know the screen.

    Anyway, I have tried everything to restore my phone that I have researched. Tried flashing my backup, didn't work. Tried flashing to original 2.2 FRG01B, didn't work. Tried flashing cyanogen, didn't work. Tried flashing 2.01, didn't work.

    Is there anything else I can try? This sucks.
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    So you tried using RSDlite to flash the sbf again?
     
  3. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
  4. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    YOU ARE NOT BRICKED.
    Bricked means it won't even turn on.

    Can you get to recovery?
    You're in bootloader now.
    If you can get to recovery flash your backup.
     
  5. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sounds like you did everything in the right order.

    What method did you used to root? you need to use link 3 in my sig.

    So I understand, you can still boot to Clockwork, but it won't boot up all the way and if you flash a backup nothing changes AND if you have flash an .sbf still no change? If this is all correct you might have a hardware issue.
     
  6. patracles

    patracles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. I actually went back to sprecovery, then tried all that I mentioned. Whenever I try flashing from an SBF, it hangs at 99% in rsd lite, then reboots, shows the "M" logo then right back to the same bootloader 2c.7c screen. It seems like the original SBF would work, but just right back to bootloader
     
  7. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    When you flash the sbf, you need to "catch the boot" Its a pain to do it, the last phone I did took 6 tries to get it right. Basically, you need to hit the X on the keyboard, just as it starts to reboot.
     
  8. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    plus one, good call, forgot about that!
     
  9. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
  10. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Your problem could very well be that you are trying to flash frg01b. Try flashing frg22d to see if it breaks the bootloader and let's you back into your phone. I would assume that since your flashed ROM is for the frg22d build you are running into a conflict. I had the same issue with my droid 2. They had an update 2 weeks ago and when trying to flash the old sbf file tonight I got stuck in the bootloader like you. I had to use the current sbf to get it to boot up.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know their are a lot of questions being asked, but could you possibly tell us what the error it error'd out on was?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +414
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Yes. More information could prove to be VERY helpful.
     
  13. patracles

    patracles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know where the very latest sbf is?
     
  14. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry Bob, but it's hold up on the dpad to "catch the boot". OP use the link Bob provided or link 3 in my sig and follow the instructions exactly.
     
  15. patracles

    patracles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    On a side note, I finally got it to "PASS" in RSD lite... but still bootloader.. thought i had it!