1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Yes, I've done a search, about 4 hours worth but still need help or confirmation.

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR M' started by Zenica, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. Zenica
    Offline

    Zenica New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    As you can see, I am new here...very new...but I am not new to the Android OS.

    I have an Iconia tablet which is great for when I travel, it is like a laptop minus the
    bulk and weight.

    I have been an Apple iPhone user since the days of the 3G and still have my iPhone 4
    and 4S. I'll preface my query by stating that neither of my iPhones are exhibiting the
    symptom my new Motorola Droid Razr M is. I am not able to get Yahoo! email on the
    phone either using the native email app or with K9. I've tried both the POP and IMAP
    settings:

    Incoming
    Username- everything before @yahoo.com & I've tried with the @yahoo.com part
    Password- verified via web login
    IMAP server-imap.mail.yahoo.com
    Port- 143/110/995
    Security- None/SSL/TLS


    Incoming
    Username- everything before @yahoo.com & I've tried with the @yahoo.com part
    Password- verified via web login
    POP3 server-pop.att.yahoo.com
    Port- 110/995/465/143
    Security- None/SSL/TLS

    I am not listing the outgoing server details because in neither the native email app
    or in K9 am I amble to progress past the incoming server details.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated as I am not strained with the choice of keeping
    this phone or returning it to Costco.

    David


    Corrected typo!
  2. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ok, here is what I have both in my enhanced email app on my tablet and my aqua mail on my Razr M (so should be the same in stock and k9)

    Choose Imap instead of pop3 as the type of email.
    Incoming:
    Server- android.imap.mail.yahoo.com
    Port - 993
    Security type - SSL

    Outgoing:
    Server - android.smtp.mail.yahoo.com
    Port - 465
    Security type - SSL

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
  3. Zenica
    Offline

    Zenica New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the reply...I tried the settings you suggested but alas, I still receive
    the following error message: "Couldn't finish username or password incorrect".

    Do you add/change the Authentication Method or IMAP path prefix?

    Those are the only other fields in the present screen that I can edit.
  4. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Those are definitely the settings I have. Did you set up using manual set up or automatic. Try the opposite of what you used setting up.

    Also, make sure you delete the Yahoo account from the app and add the Yahoo from scratch.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
  5. buldog
    Offline

    buldog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Was there a reason you did a manual setup, just tried the automatic and it worked fine. Stupid question, do you have an @ymail.com or @yahoo.com address?
  6. Zenica
    Offline

    Zenica New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have tried both auto (using the Yahoo! icon within the settings>add account) and manual. Manual is the only way I can edit the settings as auto never get's me to
    a point where I can do this. I have never downloaded or tried the Yahoo! app. I have three Yahoo! accounts and 4 non Yahoo! accounts so having them integrated
    into a single app for checking is crucial.

    I have not tried the Yahoo! app. The remainder of your comment is not constructive for my issue as it implies I should accept mediocrity. For all of it's Nazi Tunes shortcomings
    I was able to set up email on the iPhone in minutes. Not this 6 hours and counting I'm experiencing now.

    Automatic did not work for my Yahoo! based accounts. In fact, it did not work for my Hotmail or AOL based accounts either. My Yahoo! accounts use the @yahoo.com
    address.
  7. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Zenica, make sure you have backup assistant plus set to not sync. I am wondering if that is interfering. Last year, when I got my Razr Maxx I had the same problem and when I called Verizon for help, it ended up being back up assistant plus (even though I have never used that Verizon service).

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
  8. Zenica
    Offline

    Zenica New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I checked the Sync settings and if I was in the correct location, then I can not disable the Sync, only change the time at which it will occur.
    Like the Apple iCloud, I won't ever use this feature.

    On a side note, when sending a picture in an email, having opened the email client by way of the picture send option, is it normal that only
    the FROM field has the indicator in the bottom right allowing me to select which account? The TO field has no such indicator allowing me to
    access the contact list forcing me to manually type the email address.
  9. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I agree about never using the feature. It is invasive that it is thrown at us. I am wondering if it needs to be disabled in setup because I don't have the option to sync. I will explore further and see what I discover.

    The selecting from which account is only so you can choose which email address you would like to use. In the TO field, if you start to type the recipient's contact name, it should give you a drop down of possible contacts.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
  10. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Edited...no longer necessary.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
  11. buldog
    Offline

    buldog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unfortunately you aren't going to like this answer either. Ran some tests on gmail, hotmail, and ymail - in the synced email setup none of them had the dropdown for contacts, either by accessing from a picture or from the synced account. In each of the apps, only the ymail app actually had a dropdown for contacts. Sorry, such a shame hearing a convert from iOS might wanna go back:(
  12. Zenica
    Offline

    Zenica New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just tried and even after typing a few characters of a known email address (in my contact list), no drop down presented itself.

    Given we just had our first child, this might be a deal breaker as I am accustomed to rapidly sending pictures right from the photo
    gallery. This works best as I am usually in there filtering out the images that did not come out well

    I also took it as derogatory or maliferous but chose to ignore it as I find that when I am new to a forum, there is always one that feels my query is superfluous.

    This does not bode well for my continued use of this phone...while I do like the over all feel and the futuristic way in which apps are swiped and moved around, like moving off the screen to delete
    or having one page of apps fade in/out as you move the top page away but I will need a solution for sending emails quickly and efficiently with picture attachments.

    This is provided I can resolve the Yahoo! mail issue.
  13. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    I wonder if there is a defect with the phone. I tried in my Gmail, stock email that has a hotmail address and aqua mail which has my Yahoo email address. All of them give me a drop down after I type two letters.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
  14. buldog
    Offline

    buldog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So does this mean you got some sort of email working? Wondering if there is some underlying issue with your specific device. Also, are the email addresses in your phones contact list or contacts from your email account? I have never synced addresses from my actual email account and believe when you just type in a name/email address it pulls from your phones contacts.
  15. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    This may or may not be the secret for back up assistant (bua). Go into the phone's settings, to the setup wizard and uncheck bua plus. Then in settings in the accounts section, go to bua plus and look to see if the sync icon is greyed out.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
  16. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Thanks buldog for that clarification... the email address needs to be saved in the phone contacts. Not sure if it works if the email account is synced because I only sync my Gmail account.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
  17. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Folks, I'm coming in late here, and haven't read through the full thread yet. I did have to do some "housekeeping" in this thread, first. I think you all know what I meant. Give me a few and let me see if I can sort it out. I also use Yahoo, my wife's email is on Yahoo, and we both use the Yahoo email app on her RAZR and my RAZR MAXX. We've both had no problems with it, but there has to be a simple explanation for what you are experiencing. It seems to me that both K9 and the resident eMail app should also work fine.

    I surely understand your frustration and if I were in your shoes I'd feel like you do. Please let me assure you that we'll get this resolved. TisMyDroid is an EXCELLENT support staff, a true representative of what we're all about. There are however times when she knows or can figure out the answer when I don't know it, and perhaps this is a case where I may be able to figure it out. Either way, we will resolve this. that I am confident of. :biggrin:
  18. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Thanks FoxKat we can use your help.

    Okay, I think I know the deal with the TO email drop down list. I think what ends up getting included in the drop down is a combination of people's email addresses you have saved in your phone and people you have emailed from your phone. I was just in my hotmail and one of the email addresses that was included in the drop down was a person I emailed recently but she is neither saved in my phone nor is she saved in my hotmail contacts.

    So maybe the secret is that after you have emailed from your phone, it populates the drop down list possibilities.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
  19. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Zenica,

    Try something for me...and humor me for a moment. If you've done everything you read below, just try it again for me...step by step.

    First, MAKE SURE YOU DON'T HAVE THE YMAIL APP INSTALLED!! If you do, uninstall it.
    1. Go into the stock email app, hit the menu button and choose <settings>.
    2. Then at the top right, hit the <ADD ACCOUNT> button.
    3. Choose <Other> (rather than Yahoo).
    4. Type in your email address with the full @yahoo.com (i.e. myemail@yahoo.com).
    5. Type in your password.
    6. Click <Next> (don't be surprised if it succeeds and goes to a screen that asks the frequency that it should check for email).
    7. If this is to be your defailt email account, check the box, otherwise leave blank.
    8. Decide how you want notificatons, sync, and downloads to be handled, as well as whether to sync over WIFI only.
    9. Choose <Done>
    10. On the next screen, double-check the account name, and you can change it to something more friendly rather than your email address.
    11. Choose your name as you wish it to appear on outgoing emails.
    12. Choose <Next>.
    13. Sit back and watch as your email starts coming in.
    :biggrin:

    Edit, this also now gives me a drop down of known contacts for this account after typing only 2 characters.

    Edit: Contacts are from MY phone's contact list...See below. :frown:
  20. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    820
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Actually, for my experiment, this was my wife's yahoo account and I don't have ANY of her contacts in my phone, but as soon as it started sync'ing, I could see all of her contacts as drop-downs after typing the first two characters. I typed co, and got a list of contacts that started with co, or had co in the name somewhere. I typed ch, and again contacts starting with or containing ch showed up.

    CORRECTION: I was WRONG! The contacts I am seeing are ones stored in MY contacts list. Doh!
Search tags for this page
an error has occured select one of the accounts below to re-
,
android stuck at checking for existing accounts
,
aol email does not sync between phone and laptop
,

aqua mail

,
aquamail settings for rr mail
,
at&t account setup motorola razr couldn't finish username or
,
droid aol email restoring account information
,
droid razr m yahoo email cannot connect to server
,
droid razr xt907 went blank
,
droid xt907 compatible with sync
,
icloud interferring with messaging on my galaxy note 2
,
motorola droid bionic account name is based on existing emai
,
motorola droid razr m 4.1.2 godaddy email won't send usernam
,
re-validate you accounts the account name is base on existin
,

synch droid razr m with roadrunner email account