[YAY!] VoiceSearch for the Milestone

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by RinTinTigger, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. RinTinTigger

    RinTinTigger Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,902
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Here you go guys,

    one of the coolest thing ever, was the voice search on the droid.
    Why dont we have that? cuz we aint speak english...thats what THEY say.

    I say ....who cares :D

    install end enjoy

    VoiceSearch

    Tigger
     
  2. vdbui

    vdbui New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the app,
    Questions :
    When installing, it says : This app will replace a system app. What does it replace then?
    Will we be able to restore the replaced app (old app) by using Factory reset?
     
  3. RinTinTigger

    RinTinTigger Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,902
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey,

    i guess it just replaces the google search app, wich gets the microfon addition on it.

    I installed it, no risk :)
     
  4. vaio6

    vaio6 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A big thanks ! it is working out fine
     
  5. RinTinTigger

    RinTinTigger Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,902
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    "Because i can". :)
     
  6. Guja

    Guja New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My milestone has the voice search by default
     
  7. RinTinTigger

    RinTinTigger Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,902
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    o0 where are you from?
    If it is UK version, then its clear to me, because they leave it out for non-english countries!

    =)
     
  8. ZoretMan

    ZoretMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi guys, i've tried with the voice search app and it works fine, but i think it only works in english, does anyone hace the spanish speaking version?
     
  9. RinTinTigger

    RinTinTigger Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,902
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    hey,

    i only saw it in english so far.
    keep my eyes open!

    =)
     
  10. Guja

    Guja New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm from Slovenia, but I've got the UK version of the phone, and english version of voice search(the only one i think). But it is still usefull. 90% of my google searches are in english anyway. The only thig I hate about voice search is that it doesn't work when i'm not online. And if I search for: "Call Maya" it offers me to call maya when i'm online, but error when offline. That sucs!!
     
  11. pb8185

    pb8185 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you know what version of voice search it is? and also does it only add the functionality for the search widget or does it work for google maps etc as well?
     
  12. DAGr8

    DAGr8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Montreal
    Ratings:
    +0
    1st of all GREAT Forum and Great Job RintTinTiger

    I been lurking for the last 2 days ( sinc I bought that nice phone)

    Installin that voicesearch.apk I get parsing error, downloadin directly form my mobile no luck .. any clue ?
    I have the German Milestone

    Edit usin adb and redownloading it jsut now it worked , thx !!
     
    #12 DAGr8, Jan 7, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2010