Yahoo Mail?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by txskeets, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. mike62

    mike62 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For my bellsouth.net I got to the "Incoming server settings" screen and changed the port from 110 to 995 and security from NONE to SSL but even though the NEXT button is lit up at the bottom it will NOT let me proceed. I have come in and out several times. Any ideas?
     
  2. RDDAWN

    RDDAWN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yahoo mail stops working

    so, I was able to set up my yahoo email accounts and they work for about a day and then they stop coming in... connectoin error it says.. any idea why? I didnt turn wi-fi back on...

    Also, is Dec 11th fix supposed to "fix" this?

    Thanks
     
  3. 10ACTony

    10ACTony Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm considering going over to Yahoo Mail Plus for $20/yr to get rid of this problem. I'm not so sure that Yahoo will be in a hurry to 'fix' this issue. They supply free email with unlimited storage because of the ads on the web version or the $20/yr for the paid version. If they let you use a fully functional, problem free email service with out either of the above they'll be loosing money.

    my two cents . . .


    :motdroidvert:
     
  4. mrtosh

    mrtosh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its faster to load up yahoomail.com then to wait for the emails to load on the phone itself at this point... almost to the point of going back to the storm over this issue.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  5. mrtosh

    mrtosh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. tenbbs

    tenbbs New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice of them to fix it...

    It's pretty bothersome that the 5 page document outlining the known problems was released on November 5th:
    Motorola Droid OTA Update Coming December 11th? | Android Phone Fans

    And the Moto DROID itself was released on November 6th, with both Moto and VZ KNOWING it had 5 pages worth of problems:
    Hello Humans: Droid By Motorola Arrives Next Week

    Thanks alot VZ and Moto - working together to release low-quality products in time for the holiday season!

    Meh. At least it /should/ get fixed before XMas. At least I haven't turned off my BB yet.

    -FP
     
  7. LordKastle

    LordKastle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    10ACTony makes a good point. This more-so than anything is what is causing the problem. For anyone who gives troubleshooting later on this forum later remember what he said.

    "I'm considering going over to Yahoo Mail Plus for $20/yr to get rid of this problem. I'm not so sure that Yahoo will be in a hurry to 'fix' this issue. They supply free email with unlimited storage because of the ads on the web version or the $20/yr for the paid version. If they let you use a fully functional, problem free email service with out either of the above they'll be loosing money."
     
  8. DroidFan

    DroidFan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I find it interesting that it works for some people and not others. I have a basic Ymail (ymail.com vs. yahoo.com) account and I've had it up and running since day 1. Granted, it doesn't always sync quickly, and I'll hit "refresh" every once in a while, but overall, it continues to work....fortunately, it's not my primary email account....
     
  9. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not uncommon. No one waits to release a product until all issues are resolved.
     
  10. mrtosh

    mrtosh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fixed!!

    I know this may seem stupid but if you have Advanced task killer make sure that the email tab is not clicked. I de-clicked it and have been recieving emails about every 5mins as per setup. I kept shutting down the email app w/task killer. Fixed for me. Give it a try
     
  11. vass0922

    vass0922 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    5 pages is nothing for a device with this many features
    In fact I can guarantee this is just a small subset of ALL of the bugs. I'd bet Moto has a DB to track of all of the bugs, and to export that would be a long spreadsheet. most are bugs you wouldnt' notice unless you happened to push the right buttons in the right order.
    Even iPhone and blackberries, and crappy phones like the Razr would have a long spreadsheet of bugs. If companies were to wait for a bug list of a simple 5 pages the product would never be released.

    The two bugs that bother me is yahoo not automatically pulling (yahoo mail works fine to sync manually, but rarely does it automatically) and no facebook notifications... both relatively minor overall seeing as my yahoo mail is strictly personal and not time critical.

    btw, I seem to remember Windows XP was released with bugs numbering in the millions
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2009
  12. JamesButabi

    JamesButabi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My brothers droid has the incorrect username/pw problem. Ive set mine up successfully. His wifi is off, all entries are correct. Only possible thing I can think of is he has a swear word in his pw. Any possibility this is getting filtered?
     
Similar Threads
  1. uscjoel
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,511
  2. crxlvr
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    7,158
  3. garyevs
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,494
Loading...
Search tags for this page
android bellsouth imap email settings
,
droid and yahoo mail
,
kfzx@jetnc.com loc:us
,
mail jetnc.com
,
mail jetnc.com loc:us
,
maildroid yahoo
,
prodigy.net email in android phone
,
yahoo mail maildroid
,

yahoo mail on droid

,
yahoo mail on maildroid