Yahoo Mail?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by txskeets, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. mrtosh
    Offline

    mrtosh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its faster to load up yahoomail.com then to wait for the emails to load on the phone itself at this point... almost to the point of going back to the storm over this issue.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  2. mrtosh
    Offline

    mrtosh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. tenbbs
    Offline

    tenbbs New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice of them to fix it...

    It's pretty bothersome that the 5 page document outlining the known problems was released on November 5th:
    Motorola Droid OTA Update Coming December 11th? | Android Phone Fans

    And the Moto DROID itself was released on November 6th, with both Moto and VZ KNOWING it had 5 pages worth of problems:
    Hello Humans: Droid By Motorola Arrives Next Week

    Thanks alot VZ and Moto - working together to release low-quality products in time for the holiday season!

    Meh. At least it /should/ get fixed before XMas. At least I haven't turned off my BB yet.

    -FP
     
  4. LordKastle
    Offline

    LordKastle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    10ACTony makes a good point. This more-so than anything is what is causing the problem. For anyone who gives troubleshooting later on this forum later remember what he said.

    "I'm considering going over to Yahoo Mail Plus for $20/yr to get rid of this problem. I'm not so sure that Yahoo will be in a hurry to 'fix' this issue. They supply free email with unlimited storage because of the ads on the web version or the $20/yr for the paid version. If they let you use a fully functional, problem free email service with out either of the above they'll be loosing money."
     
  5. DroidFan
    Offline

    DroidFan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I find it interesting that it works for some people and not others. I have a basic Ymail (ymail.com vs. yahoo.com) account and I've had it up and running since day 1. Granted, it doesn't always sync quickly, and I'll hit "refresh" every once in a while, but overall, it continues to work....fortunately, it's not my primary email account....
     
  6. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not uncommon. No one waits to release a product until all issues are resolved.
     
  7. mrtosh
    Offline

    mrtosh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fixed!!

    I know this may seem stupid but if you have Advanced task killer make sure that the email tab is not clicked. I de-clicked it and have been recieving emails about every 5mins as per setup. I kept shutting down the email app w/task killer. Fixed for me. Give it a try
     
  8. vass0922
    Offline

    vass0922 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    5 pages is nothing for a device with this many features
    In fact I can guarantee this is just a small subset of ALL of the bugs. I'd bet Moto has a DB to track of all of the bugs, and to export that would be a long spreadsheet. most are bugs you wouldnt' notice unless you happened to push the right buttons in the right order.
    Even iPhone and blackberries, and crappy phones like the Razr would have a long spreadsheet of bugs. If companies were to wait for a bug list of a simple 5 pages the product would never be released.

    The two bugs that bother me is yahoo not automatically pulling (yahoo mail works fine to sync manually, but rarely does it automatically) and no facebook notifications... both relatively minor overall seeing as my yahoo mail is strictly personal and not time critical.

    btw, I seem to remember Windows XP was released with bugs numbering in the millions
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2009
  9. JamesButabi
    Offline

    JamesButabi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My brothers droid has the incorrect username/pw problem. Ive set mine up successfully. His wifi is off, all entries are correct. Only possible thing I can think of is he has a swear word in his pw. Any possibility this is getting filtered?
     
  10. scotty5150
    Offline

    scotty5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried all these suggestions and can't get it to work. Wifi is off. I've triple-checked the input fields. Totally stumped here.

    I really need one Yahoo account on this phone. It's a work address.

    Keep getting the user/pass incorrect error.
     
  11. scotty5150
    Offline

    scotty5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know there's little left to suggest, but does anyone have any ideas at all? User/pass is correct. The imap.mail.yahoo.com field is correct. Wifi is off. This is very frustrating. :mad:
     
  12. skrewdup
    Offline

    skrewdup New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Well at least you are not the only one having issue accessing yahoo email. Been trying all night and all morning. So far still no go...:mad:
     
  13. mrtosh
    Offline

    mrtosh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't suppose you've seen the video showing how to setup your yahoo account have you? Make sure you have it unchecked in the task killer as well. Solved my issues. Hope that helps.
     
  14. irvinecb
    Offline

    irvinecb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem. No matter what I do, I get the wrong email/pw error. So now I open the browser and use this: m.yahoo.com

    Works fine just not as quick as having it with all my emails in the email folder.

    Anyone know if this would work? YPOPs! :: Free POP3/SMTP Access to Yahoo! Mail
     
  15. skrewdup
    Offline

    skrewdup New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Went into VZW store to get screen protector and the rep told me that half the people are having issue with yahoo email at the moment. Told me to check manually via browser for the time being...
     
Similar Threads
  1. uscjoel
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,082
  2. crxlvr
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    5,758
  3. ZBacks
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  4. D.Doksa
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  5. garyevs
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    995
Loading...
Search tags for this page
android bellsouth imap email settings
,
droid and yahoo mail
,
kfzx@jetnc.com loc:us
,
mail jetnc.com
,
mail jetnc.com loc:us
,
maildroid yahoo
,
prodigy.net email in android phone
,
yahoo mail maildroid
,

yahoo mail on droid

,
yahoo mail on maildroid