Y Didn't Droid get MotoBlur?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Madvincent, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. Madvincent

    Madvincent Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    In Exile
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey i got a question that i have been wondering for a wile is y did the Droid not get motoblur when it was released? i mean it was the most popular phone on the android market i think so y didn't they add that? dancedroiddancedroiddancedroid
     
  2. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think it's a blessing. I prefer the Vanilla Android rather than having something added :) Just my opinion.
     
  3. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Because the Droid was released as "An Android Experience" phone, meaning it was to have plain ol' Google Android. It was a blessing, because as such, Verizon couldn't mess with it or remove features from the phone (like AT&T did with the Backflip). ;)
     
  4. machineheadg2r

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ewwwwwwwwwwwwww
     
  5. garrett

    garrett Silver Member
    Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    Ratings:
    +5
    defiantly a blessing motoblur is nothing but extra bloat.
     
  6. blackjoker4215

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I get an amen?
     
  7. ClaudioKilgannon

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Amen brotha, amen
     
  8. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wouldn't have bought the Droid is they put Moto Blur on it. We would likely still be on 2.01 if they had...
     
  9. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was a google experience phone, yes, but it was also intended as a developers phone, so a UI like motoblur isn't an option.
     
  10. AZDroid09

    AZDroid09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The absence of Motoblur is one of the big reasons why it is one of the most popular Android phones ever on the Market. I also would have never bought it if it came with Motobloat.....
     
  11. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here. I selected the Droid, in part, because it was a Google Experience device.