Xoom won't do.... Anything

Discussion in 'Motorola Xoom' started by ldeezy80, Jun 27, 2013.

  1. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had to SBF my Xoom with RSDlite after something caused it to brick and only able to boot to the Red screen.... No fastboot or recovery.

    It took a couple of attempts, but I ultimately found an SBF file that worked. Well about a day later, still not rooted, the Xoom just booted down out of the blue and then stuck on M logo when I tried to turn it back on. Weird things happened when I tired to wipe data from stock recovery, like my /data and /system would not mount. I tried SBF again, now it kept getting stuck at switching to BP and LTE and failing. I was able to flash CWM through fastboot but still could not mount system or data.

    Why isn't rsd working? Need my Xoom! I am fresh out of ideas. No warranty. I'll try anything at this point. Please help, anyone! Thanks



    Sent from my DROIDX using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
  2. wicked
    Offline

    wicked DF Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,043
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
  3. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks - already tried there.. Only got referred to xda... No replies for days. Ahhh well
    Sent from my DROIDX using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
  4. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    You should just be fastboot'ing the Xoom and not using Rsdlite.

    Google even hosts the fastboot files.

    I flashed the stock images a few times to my Xoom when I had it.

    Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
  5. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ive read about that before. I guess my issue with that is even though fastboot protocol will start I cannot get the pc to recognize the xoom or respond to any other commands (ex fastboot OEM unlock). The only other thing I can think of is that possibly my USB cables got mixed up, and it truly needs the moto xoom cable? Even though it has always worked with the same cord I use for it and my droid, which I am 70% certain is the original droid cable (almost positive the xoom came without a usb)

    Would it b worth it to shell out the cash for a xoom cable to see if that works, even tho it has never been an issue?

    Edit...thank you so much for the assistance!

    Sent from my Inspire™ 4G With Beats Audio using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
  6. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Are you booting to fastboot mode before attempting? Are you even able to boot to fastboot/recovery/RSD mode?


    Of course pressing Volume Down until you see Fastboot Protocol then pressing up to enter it :)

    I use the cable that came with my Motorola Droid to do any flashing of any of my Motorola devices (Droid, Droid 3, Droid 4, Xoom) so I don't know if it'd be worth it to buy a Xoom USB cable.


  7. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, I am able to get to rad screen, boot to fastboot and even access the initial recovery menu, however recovery sticks on "entering android recovery"

    The last time I was able to use recovery (stock) it was also acting weird...would not mount system or data. Does that help?

    Sent from my Inspire™ 4G With Beats Audio using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
  8. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    From Google's sources for Wingray (WiFi Xoom). And you'll need the .img files (boot, system, recovery and userdata)

    Press and hold Volume Down, then press and hold Power (to enter Fastboot)

    Once in Fastboot mode, from your PC

    fastboot flash boot boot.img
    fastboot flash system system.img
    fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
    fastboot flash userdata userdata.img
    fastboot erase cache

    If not, how about fastboot flashing the recovery only and see if you can boot to that?
    have a recovery image to flash - http://download2.clockworkmod.com/recoveries/recovery-clockwork-touch-5.8.3.1-wingray.img
    downloaded and in the same directory as fastboot.exe command.
    Boot to fastboot protocol
    on PC type

    Fastboot oem unlock (if not unlocked already...needs to be unlocked to flash an alternate recovery image)
    fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-touch-5.8.3.1-wingray.img

    And then try to install a ROM from there.

  9. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    also, if you can't talk to the Xoom, it may be worth the effort to get the lastest fastboot from the latest Android SDK and/or reinstall the latest Motorola USB drivers.
  10. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Trying now. Results asap...

    Sent from my Inspire™ 4G With Beats Audio using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
  11. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm currently downloading the full
    SDK bundle. I was using the minimal adb/fb I found on xda but fastboot will not recognize.


    Sent from my Inspire™ 4G With Beats Audio using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
  12. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, the bundle did not help. Can anyone reccommend an sbf file to try? As apparently that is the only mode my pc communicates with...(rsd)

    Sent from my Inspire™ 4G With Beats Audio using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
  13. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could this be because I never had a chance to enable USB debugging? Wouldn't have a clue how to fix that now

    Sent from my Inspire™ 4G With Beats Audio using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
  14. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Nope, that only has to do with the tablet actually booted and running the OS.

    Try updating your USB drivers with the latest from Motorola. If you can't talk to it in fastboot mode...that is most likely your problem.

    You really need to be looking at fastboot as what is going to save you....

    Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
  15. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So you seem confident there's a fix, no? I read somewhere xoom's were terribly hard to brick, but I thought I did it. I will try the drivers. Does it make sense that the drivers work for rsd and install when I plug in USB in rsd while in my computer, though? Obv I'm no expert, I just kinda assumed if the driver was working it was working. Ok...heeere we go

    Sent from my Inspire™ 4G With Beats Audio using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
  16. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn. Strike 15. Updated to latest USB drivers (which I think I already had bc it only gave repair and remove options) I repaired and no dice. Fastboot won't work. Agggg

    Worth uninstalling then reinstalling? Motorola device mgr 2.3.9

    Also, when I check devices the xoom is only recognized as an "s flash" in rsd mode. Doesn't recognize any drives or files

    Sent from my Inspire™ 4G With Beats Audio using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2013
  17. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Are you booting to fastboot protocol mode and letting windows detect the device in that mode before trying to fastboot? What fastboot files are you using?

    If booting to fastboot and windows has detected...what kind of errors are you getting? Try fast boot OEM unlock and let me know the results.....

    If it boots to the logo, it is repairable.

    Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
  18. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Absolutely booting to fastboot before attempting any cmds. When you say what fastboot files ya kinda list me...the SDK bundle?

    No errors. Just no response. I will try OEM unlock again right now .

    Nothing.

    [​IMG]

    What's next? Lol. Thank you very much again

    Sent from my Inspire™ 4G With Beats Audio using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2013
  19. ldeezy80
    Offline

    ldeezy80 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only screens I can access

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my Inspire™ 4G With Beats Audio using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
  20. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Fastboot files would be the files to flash to the device. You would have to download them from Motorola. Should be a system.img, a boot.img, a recovery.img and a user.img.

    Put them in the same location fastboot is located to make it easier. If you don't have them....you'll need to find them and/or ask around for them. Unfortunately when I sold my Xoom I deleted the ones I had downloaded. I looked earlier on Motorola's site and couldn't find them...as well, links I had to them no longer work.

    That's one reason I suggested trying to flash the recovery.img file I linked in earlier an posting, it would allow you to install CM10.1 or EOS, etc...Roms if you can't find the stock one.

    Try the fastboot OEM unlock and then the fastboot the recovery as stated above.

    Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page
can't do an android recovery in my motorola xoom
,
cannot do recovery on xoom
,
fix a xoom that wont power on
,
motorola tablet wont turn off
,
motorola xoom 2 wont boot
,
motorola xoom wont do anything
,
motorolla xoom wont turnon or off stuck protocal
,
resetting xoom says bp failed
,

wingray 4.3

,
xoom 2 wont power down
,

xoom boot options

,
xoomwon't boot