XBOX Live Through Tethering PDANET OSX?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by Arsenalc08, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. Arsenalc08

    Arsenalc08 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hope this hasn't been asked before... but I wanted to know if anyone had an idea on how to connect to Xbox Live using a macbook and pdanet for tethering?

    I've gotten it to see the ip but I'm having trouble with the DNS.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Arsenalc08

    Arsenalc08 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help would be greatly appreciated =(
     
  3. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're asking to get caught by Verzion if you do that. Too much data will cause a red flag. The more folks that do things like this, the more likely Verizon is to start capping our regular data plans.
     
  4. Arsenalc08

    Arsenalc08 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alrighty, awesome...

    So anyone else?
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    If it does work, I'd be surprised if it's actually playable....
     
  6. Arsenalc08

    Arsenalc08 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plenty of people have got it to work, and many of them report they have pretty good ping and frame rates

    Plus 3g in my area is great.

    So... anyone?
     
  7. pockets

    pockets Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you briged your connection and allowed other devices to connect through to the internet?
     
  8. Arsenalc08

    Arsenalc08 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this will work, not sure but here is a tip for all of you.


    This hint will allow your Xbox to obtain its IP, DNS info, and so on from the Mac using DHCP. You need to have administrator privileges on the Mac in question, and the procedure is different on 10.4 vs. 10.5. (Presumably older systems were similar to 10.4, but I haven't tested on anything older than 10.4.10.).

    10.4:

    I haven't had much time to interact with the 10.4 machine I have access to, so I haven't tested this as much. Some variation on this procedure may be necessary to get the change to stick -- in particular, you may need to perform it more than once, or start and/or stop Internet Sharing before performing it. Also, the restart at the end may be unnecessary (though you do need to start and stop Internet Sharing somehow). Please post your experience in the comments, if someone hasn't already.
    Start Internet Sharing if it's not already running.
    Open NetInfo Manager, located in /Applications ยป Utilities. Authenticate as an administrator using the lock icon in the lower-left.
    Navigate to the /config/dhcp node (so that dhcp is selected in the browser pane).
    In the lower pane, find the reply_threshold_seconds property and change its value from 4 to 0.
    Quit NetInfo Manager and then restart your Mac.
    After the restart, open NetInfo Manager again and confirm that reply_threshold_seconds is still 0.
    10.5:

    The following procedure is confirmed to work as written.
    Start Internet Sharing if it's not already running.
    In Terminal, type cp /etc/bootpd.plist /tmp/bootpd.plist
    Stop Internet Sharing.
    Open /tmp/bootpd.plist for editing using TextEdit or whatever.
    Locate this section of the file, near the end:
    <key>reply_threshold_seconds</key>
    <integer>4</integer>
    Change the value 4 to 0.
    In Terminal, type sudo cp /tmp/bootpd.plist /etc
    Start Internet Sharing.
    If you want to, check that your change to /etc/bootpd.plist hasn't been reverted.
     
  9. beneharris

    beneharris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    portland
    Ratings:
    +0
    actually it uses hardly any data at all. watching videos on youtube through your phone uses more.

    at least this is what i've found with COD.

    you have to bridge the connection, but i don't think you can with pdanet because it is set up as a modem. if you use wireless tethering, you can bridge the connection with an ethernet cable to your xbox (or in my case ps3)
     
  10. Arsenalc08

    Arsenalc08 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am bridging the connection, but it wont connect after setting up the ip and dns info. I must've had something wrong and I think my last post is going to help a lot
     
  11. choklitcow

    choklitcow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Online gaming surprisingly uses very little data. I played WoW for ~1 hour the other night at only 14mb of usage.

    Also:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...-using-pdanet.html?highlight=xbox live tether
     
Search tags for this page
how to connect to xbox live using tethering
,
how to connect to xbox live with pdanet for mac
,
imac pdanet xbox live
,
pda net xbox live
,
pdanet for xbox 360
,

pdanet to xbox

,
pdanet xbox
,

pdanet xbox 360

,
usb tethering to share android internet with xbox 360
,
xbox live with pdanet