X OS Update

ij1936

Reaction score
I updated the operating system per prompt to the 4.5.605 and the problem I've encountered is when I power off, the device will turn itself back on:angry:. I find this really annoying. Any suggestions? I am not tech savvy so plain english in layman terms is appreciated! If this issue has been addressed in another thread, direction to the thread would be nice. Thank you

OP
ij1936

ij1936

Reaction score
I'm guessing that this will erase all pictures and apps that I've added.

leftspin

Reaction score
It doesn't touch anything on your SD card. Your pictures should be fine and Google backs up all your market installed apps.

Mogaar

Reaction score
Did this fix the problem? I am having the same issue with my Droid X. Sometimes I have to shut it down 2 or 3 times before it will stay off.

OP
ij1936

ij1936

Reaction score
Yes it did. However I lost my apps and had to find them again. Thankfully they were all free but unfortunately one of my apps is no longer available.

brad92

Silver Member
Reaction score
You can always root and install Titanium Backup. Or search Google for the app name .apk

Boot Manager

OP
ij1936

ij1936

Reaction score
I did a search for the lost app and found a site that said the app is no longer available. It was the Mongo ringtone maker which was great because I could record some odd sound and use that as a ringtone or notification tone. I guess I don't really need it since I keep my phone of silent anyway!

OP
ij1936

ij1936

Reaction score
Well, now it seems the hard restart didn't solve the problem. I shut the phone off last night and when I woke up the phone was on with a notification telling me I have an update for one of my apps.

Mogaar

Reaction score
Guess I won't be doing the factory reset. I also have some old apps installed I don't want to lose and I haven't had very good luck with the back-up apps either.
Maybe I'll just leave it on all the time.

OP
ij1936

ij1936

Reaction score