wrong time wrong city,state...by a lot.....

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by tc3, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. tc3
    Offline

    tc3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help...love the phone but it constantly shows the wrong time and wrong city and state.

    By wrong I mean I live north of Dallas,TX. and it is showing that I'm in Fort Lauderdale , Florida??

    Cant seem to fix it...a deal breaker if no solution is found.
     
  2. atlrus
    Offline

    atlrus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which app is showing this? Maps?
     
  3. tc3
    Offline

    tc3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the HTC clock/weather widget and the phone clock shows the wrong time also.

    The settings are the default network determined.

    A bug in the time change?
     
  4. atlrus
    Offline

    atlrus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why don't you try enabling the GPS location to see if it will make a difference?
     
  5. tc3
    Offline

    tc3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried that didn't work....funny thing is, drove a few miles down the road and it corrected itself.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  6. atlrus
    Offline

    atlrus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's good. My Dinc used to occasionally send me to Africa :)
     
  7. SuFu
    Offline

    SuFu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dakotas
    Ratings:
    +0
    My TB insists that I live in Boston when I'm in the Midwest.... It fixes on the move but still goes back every morning. Getting pretty annoyed.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  8. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Try Beautiful Widgets. It will cost a few bucks but it's worth it.
     
  9. SuFu
    Offline

    SuFu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dakotas
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not the just the widget. The system thinks its on east coast time.
     
  10. tc3
    Offline

    tc3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  11. atlrus
    Offline

    atlrus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Didi you guys try factory reset?
     
  12. mkjellgren
    Offline

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am experiencing this as well. The location services think I am in a tiny town of 400 people 200 miles north of me. My clock is still accurate since it thinks I'm north not east or west but the weather info is all wonky. It happens on beautiful widgets and weatherbug elite as well. As other users have said, it fixes itself on the move, but as soon as it refreshes in a stationary location everything gets thrown off again. Temporarily I have just manually set my location on all of the apps that use it and since I really don't travel more that 20 miles very often its far more accurate that the location 200 miles away that it was reporting.

    Sent from my ADR6400L
     
  13. SuFu
    Offline

    SuFu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dakotas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just booted up from a factory reset... Fingers crossed :S
     
  14. SuFu
    Offline

    SuFu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dakotas
    Ratings:
    +0
    After using airplane mode, the location reset to Boston. My system is a full hour off again. I'm going manually set Central time until this is resolved.... Too bad.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  15. hyatari
    Offline

    hyatari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had this issue as well. Go to settings, location and make sure you check VZW location services then reboot your phone and see if it keeps the correct location after that. Also use Google's location service too.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
calendar on thunderbolt displays wrong city
,
droid bionic is stuck in the wrong time zone
,
htc inspire shows wrong city
,
htc one phone displays wrong location
,
htc thunderbolt incorrect time
,

htc thunderbolt wrong time

,

thunderbolt weather wrong city

,
thunderbolt wrong time zone
,
verizon wrong time zone
,
wrong time on htc thunderbolt