Writing to /system/lib/modules

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by RichStevenson, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Upgraded to the latest from the Sholes site v1.1. There's a new mount listed as:
    /dev/block/loop0 on /system/lib/modules type squashfs (ro)

    I need to be able to write to this directory so I can drop a module in there.
    I've remounted the /system dir as rw, as usual and that didn't work. I also tried:
    mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/loop0 /system/lib/modules
    and that didn't work either.No errors either time, it just stays ro.

    Any idea how I can get rw to this directory and why the new mount is there?

    Thanks,
    Ricj
  2. m0bi1e
    Offline

    m0bi1e New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same issue here. I haven't found a fix, but I do know why it is happening. The newer Sholes.info ROMs use compcache. This increases the cache of the system by creating a swap file. That swap file is in the modules directory.

    It would be a pain, but you could flash with a virgin ROM, add your module, then apply the Sholes patch.
  3. ejhart
    Offline

    ejhart New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What are the commands you guys are using, and what are the errors you are getting? Also have you tried using dd to drop things in there?
  4. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    I had the module already in there prior to applying the new rom. It wipes the system directory so it takes out my module as well during the upgrade.
  5. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    There are no errors...
  6. Berzerker
    Offline

    Berzerker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can't write to that. The directory doesn't exist in the Sholes 1.1 ROM. It's mounted by the kernel to store files there.
  7. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Previously I had the module tun.ko copied there. I understand what you're saying, so where can I place my module and run it? And if I can put it some where else I'm wondering if the app will be ok with that. FYI. The app is VPN Connections.
Search tags for this page

android /system/lib

,
android /system/lib/
,

android /system/lib/modules

,

android system lib

,

android system/lib

,
copy file to system/lib android
,
how do i get to system/libs module on droid incredible
,
how to find system lib in android
,
remount /system/lib/modules read write
,
system lib modules
,

system/lib/modules

,
where is system lib android