WOW, for those of you with bad service in your home, a possible solution!!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by velocity92c, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. velocity92c

    velocity92c Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been plagued with terrible service at my house since I got my Droid earlier this year, and actually since I've had Verizon. I *never* have enough service to even make a call and texts sometimes hang for 20 minutes before going through. I worked around this by connecting to wifi and using google voice for texting needs, and my home number for calls.

    I've seen the option to 'enable data roaming' many times, but always avoided it because it says you may incur massive charges. Well after a little research, Verizon doesn't charge anything for roaming whatsoever. I enabled that and have FULL SERVICE with 3G at my house! It's amazing. I will still use wifi but being able to send and receive texts/calls from my cell phone is an amazing experience.

    Give it a shot and let me know your results!
     
  2. cromo8

    cromo8 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i believe that its only for calls and service in general

    i think they still charge for data roaming

    but i dont want to scare you
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Verizon has No Data Roaming in the US....Or Voice Roaming for that matter...
     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    No data roaming? As long as there's a CDMA tower nearby you get free 3G?

    Hmm. Too bad I live so close to Canada that when I go to town I'm often pulling in a Canadian tower...
     
  5. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh they charge for roaming out of the country.
     
  6. velocity92c

    velocity92c Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else try this yet?
     
  7. Takenover83

    Takenover83 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm, sounds risky to me.
     
  8. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,846
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +292
    Incorrect info about charging for data roaming. Roaming and data on the extended network anywhere in the U.S. including Hawaii and Alaska will not charge you anything extra.
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Good news for people in low-signal areas serviced by other carriers. Not good news for me with my Canada connection.
     
  10. bpad10

    bpad10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't believe the change in my own home....toggles between 1x and 1 bar 3G normally and now I have 4 solid bars......

    Can anyone else confirm that nor charges will be accrued as long as we're in the U.S.
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Yup. Verizon. :D
     
  12. velocity92c

    velocity92c Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys sorry for not being clear. I called Verizon myself and asked them. They confirmed 100 percent there is absolutelty no roaming charges whatsoever in the US.
     
Search tags for this page
automatic a or b htc incredible system select
,
bad cell service at home verizon
,
bad verizon service at home
,
cdma home only or automatic
,
cdma roaming mode home only
,
cdma roaming mode home only or automatic
,
cdma roaming mode home or automatic
,

verizon bad service at home

,
verizon droid cdma roaming automatic a automatic b
,
verizon droid cdma roaming automatic b