Would someone please explain " cache " on the applications area of the phone ?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Rogerdodger, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. Rogerdodger
    Offline

    Rogerdodger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, Ca.
    Hello ----------- I have a general question , and I hope I am posting

    this in the correct area . In the phone ( Droid ) there is a page that has

    all of the applications that are on the screens . There is one place that

    shows the word " Cach " .... What is this and what is it used for ?

    I'm still pretty new to some of this stuff so I would appreciate an

    explanation . :) Thanks much ... I alway enjoy checking all

    the forums and such around here to see if I can get further along on all of

    this stuff ............. and not have to ask SO many questions .

    Thanks much ..............
  2. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cache?wasRedirected=true

    Kinda similar to temporary internet files in a way. I'm sure someone else can clarify a bit more, but this will get you started.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For some reason Jonny's link isn't live, but this one should be. Cache Let us know if that clears it up for you Rodgerdodger!
  4. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    My apologies...I think that's a Tapatalk issue. Df doesn't recognize it as a link. Tell me if this works...

    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cach...ut...Haha! Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. Rogerdodger
    Offline

    Rogerdodger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, Ca.
    Thanks Anne ---- and Johnny Kansas ............

    So ------ if I understand this it is part of the internal operating system in that particular app to help it run right ?
    I guess my REAL question was ---------- Do you EVER touch that particular setting ? Thanks again .
  7. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Sometimes it can get bogged down. Clearing it allows an app to perform better, but COULD lose a little bit of data you don't expect to lose. None of that data should be irreplaceable though. Cache us basically a place where info is stored in order for an app to access it more quickly.

    Most notably, sometimes the Gmail app doesn't seem to sync unless you refresh it automatically. Clearing the cache fixes that issue. However, most users experiencing that issue are rooted and running custom ron's.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  8. vrdubin6
    Offline

    vrdubin6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Yeah you can touch it... some people regularly clear their cache. It will just regenerate cache data. I guess to sum it up it pretty much stores information to help it be quicker by already having certain files cached so it doesnt have to reload them. I usually clear my cache every couple of days just to clean things up.

    Edit... Jonny beat me to it... :)
  9. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And to add to what Jonny said, apps like Google maps (if you use navigation a lot) accumulate cache and start to slow down a bit. If someone is starting to run slow, that's one of the first things to do is go into Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage applications and clear out the cache. It works wonders sometimes.
  10. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    And to add to what Anne said, the same goes for browser history (on the phone OR PC).

    In the stock browser, holding the back button will bring up browsing history. Once there, press menu to clear history.

    In Dolphin, holding the back button gives the option of either exiting, or clearing cache and exiting.

    Personally, I've found issues with Google Buzz not loading properly in the stick browser. After clearing history, it loads fine.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  11. Rogerdodger
    Offline

    Rogerdodger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, Ca.
    --- GOSH -------- Thank you all ------------

    I know I'll learn something if I stick around here ----------- Just so my boss doesn't find me toodling around here instead of working ! --------
    ---
    It's easy to get sidetracked ----------
  12. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,296
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Read up! Plenty to learn has already beenvposted. If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to ask!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  13. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I regularly clear out the caches of every app on my phone to free up space. I have never noticed any ill effects from doing this. Cachemate does the job quite nicely. It also lets you clear market search histories and internet histories and all that stuff. Cache is fine to delete. Now the data in app, if you clear that, then you may lose certain things temporarily. Like with the email app, if you clear cache, everything is fine. If you clear the data, then you have to set your accounts up again.

    And you'll learn a LOT if you stick around here. Lord knows I have
  14. Rogerdodger
    Offline

    Rogerdodger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, Ca.
    ---------- FOR SURE --------- Thank you , and Johnny again !

    Like I said before -- Great site --- Can get habbit forming ! ------ :)
Search tags for this page
cache on the phone
,
phone cache
,
please explain cache
,

what is a cache on a phone

,
what is cache in a phone
,
what is cache in phone
,

what is cache on a phone

,
what is cache on my phone
,
what is cache on phone
,

what is phone cache

,

what's a cache on a phone

,
what's a cache on a phone