Would like someone to teach me overclocking.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by pylopor, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. pylopor

    pylopor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Moto Droid A855 and would like to over clock but I am always afraid that I would burn out cpu and basically kill my phone :/ Someone told me Kernels can give you more power with less heat can someone explain this to me and tell me how I can get one to over clock and make it super fast? :D
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
  3. pylopor

    pylopor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    are you rooted?
     
  5. pylopor

    pylopor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I am on the new update with root access.
     
  6. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    are you familiar with flashing zip files through recovery?
     
  7. pylopor

    pylopor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know very, very, very little.
     
  8. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    well that's better than knowing very, very, very, very little.

    Ok let me start with this, do you have a custom recovery in place? You can check this by powering off your phone. Open the physical keyboard and while holding down the x key power back on. You will boot into recovery, if you have stock recovery you will see a triangle with an exclamation point. If you have sprecovery you will see red text. If you have clockworkmod you will see green text. Try that out and report back to me.
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    lol theres a link in my sig but i forgot which one it was :(

    maybe try 2 or 6
     
    #9 Abe21599, Dec 16, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2010
  10. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    Yeah link 2, great write up's on basically anything you would need to know.
     
  11. pylopor

    pylopor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used to have the Sprecovery but when I upgraded to 2.3 someone walked me through and I just checked which one loaded and it was Clockwork
     
  12. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    Look at link 6 as well.