Working compass?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by dajakal, Dec 8, 2009.

  1. dajakal

    dajakal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am I the only one who can't get compass apps to work? I tried the Snaptic one and GPS Status, and both of them just have the needle pointed in the same direction all the time (about 30*, if that matters). It's confusing and annoying...
     
  2. DuctTape

    DuctTape New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The compass on the Tricorder app is accurate on my phone.
     
  3. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not familiar with either app but any GPS-based compass is going to require you to move. If you think about it, it's impossible to tell which direction a stationary object is facing based on its GPS coordinates. With two or more known coordinates it can determine your direction.
     
  4. Dr. Tenma

    Dr. Tenma Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are magnetic compasses on the market too, though. I believe that is how the Tricorder functions.
     
  5. mikie

    mikie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    san francisco
    Ratings:
    +0
    calibration for stuck compass

    @dajakal sorry to hear you're having problems. luckly, it's an easy fix :) (i'm a a developer for snaptic). the hardware magnetic compass in the phone gets "stuck" and needs to be re-calibrated. to do this, you basically hold the phone out infront of you, and circle it around in a figure-eight motion. let me know if this doesn't fix it.

    here's a link to my reply on another thread w/ the same issue:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-applications/7416-compass-problem-droid.html#post60877

    apple uses the same technology; here's their writeup on the problem/solution as well:
    iPhone 3GS: Re-calibrate Compass

    please let us know if you have any other comments/feedback!

    thanks,
    mike
     
  6. mikie

    mikie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    san francisco
    Ratings:
    +0
    @dr. tenma yep, snaptic's compass app uses the same api. the droid has a hardware magnetic compass, and the os provides api's for accessing the data; the iphone uses the same techonlogy/process too.

    regards,
    mike
     
Search tags for this page
android compass apps not working
,
android compass stuck
,

compass doesnt move android

,
how to get android compass to work
,
how to tell if a compass app will work on your android
,
will my compass app work on a train?