Won't install On My X Rubix Focused

Discussion in 'Drod2169 - X' started by jsw6380a, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I attempted installing this ROM on my X but it wouldn't install. I am on .340 and went through bootstrapper but no luck. It would say "installing update" but thats it, it would never begin the installation. Has anyone else had this problem? I REALLY wanted to give this ROM a shot cause it sounds great and gets great reviews. I was running Blurred dark side prior and followed install instructions to a T.


    Thanks! :icon_eek:
     
  2. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't unzip.. Could that have been the problem?? I installed DarkSlide V4.1 w/o unzipping... Is this any different?
     
  3. oo3

    oo3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think you're supposed to unzip it. Did you make sure to mount system?
     
  4. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't mount the system... I am relatively new to ROMS but Have always heard to follow instructions to the T and it is NOT in the instructions for the rom. Is this standard?? Are all of them installed the same?
     
  5. mcp770

    mcp770 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try downloading the rom again to rule out a bad download. Then try again in bootstrap recovery as the instructions state. I never check to see if the system is mounted either. Worth looking at if the new zip still doesn't install.
     
  6. digitalslacker

    digitalslacker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you wiped data/cache right?
     
  7. robbiem

    robbiem Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need to wipe data and cache.then install. Should work flawless after that

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I might try it again. I am loving darkslide.

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  9. Fate0n3

    Fate0n3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do not unzip it. Just redownload like stated and then boot into bootstrap before installing wipe data and cache. If I am not mistaken it mounts the system by itself before installing, and then install .zip and select the 1.9.5 zip and you should be good to go. If you have more issues post up and lets see if we can't get this solved
     
  10. iNfAMOUS702

    iNfAMOUS702 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed it no problem...the rom is effin great...just make sure u wipe data/factory reset before or you'll end up in a boot loop

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  11. bmali22

    bmali22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Camera don't work for me any suggestions?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  12. digitalslacker

    digitalslacker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried just restoring to stock backup and seeing if it works then?
    if it does then try to re-install rubiX?

    I haven't ever had a camera issue at all on rubiX. I use vignette, stock AOSP, and have also re-installed the blur camera.
     
  13. bmali22

    bmali22 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    On the stock rom the camera works. It doesn't work on rubix even after a wipe and re install... I'm on the ota so I don't think I need to patch anything do I?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  14. jsw6380a

    jsw6380a Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wiping data and cache has appeared to have worked. So I can understand better why do you think that it wouldn't install prior to doing this?