Woke up this morning and...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Coots, Apr 9, 2010.

  1. Coots

    Coots Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Last night before I went to bed, I had no troubles what-so-ever. I wake up this morning and tried to download a new app someone suggested "shape shifter" and let me tell you, it took my phone about 30 minutes to download the app. So I thought it was a fluke.... I tried to download some simple game, like snake or something, it'd go to around 13-15% and stop, go a lilttle further, stop. I mean, is this something I've done? Non-rooted by the way.... Should I call verizon? Any advice is appreciated.
     
  2. pilot25

    pilot25 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm going to sound like a Dell rep from Delhi but do a reset and try downloading again.
     
  3. Darkseider

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    First check to see if your on 3G or not. If you are and if you can switch to wifi and see if that makes a difference. Another thing to try is to dial *228 then choose option 2. You can also just reboot the phone to see if something decided on being silly.
     
  4. Coots

    Coots Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ok, just noticed the obvious I guess.... my 3G bars aren't lighting up at the top in the notifications bar. Restarting phone as we speak.
     
  5. Coots

    Coots Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    After restart, opened browser 3G lit up. Tried d/l'n seems to be working now. Don't know what happened.
     
  6. pdub

    pdub New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing happend to me

    I noticed the same thing yesterday morning. Being in IT and thinking I know everything I started to troubleshoot the problem. I uninstalled the few Apps I had installed on Wed night, rebooted 5 times, *18 to reset the signal, *226 - 2 to register. But to no avail, I ended up backing up my phone and Master resetting it, still nothing. I use tether my phone everyday to my laptop at work and have never had a problem so I was very confused when my signal kept completely dropping, then going to 4 bars, then to 3g, then dropping. I'm still not sure whats going on, but for some reason at work (Mid Michigan Area) I get no 3g and 1-4 bars (they tend to change every 15 sec or so) but at home (West Michigan) I get full 3g with no problem. I'm guessing one of the towers was damaged in our heavy storms a few days ago.

    Verizon tech support called me back yesterday at 4pm when I was leaving home and everything was working, I agreed that the problem was solved and they closed the ticket, now I have to call them back and reopen another ticket:icon_eek:. Over all I don't think this is a problem with the phone as much as with the cell towers.

    # EDIT #
    Also I heard that turning Airplane mode On then Off sometimes resets the signal, but this also did not work.
     
    #6 pdub, Apr 9, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2010
  7. Coots

    Coots Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I am going to agree it's a cell tower problem as well. I haven't called them to ask if other people are having issues or not but, my signal is going in and out. I can download an app, it is super fast... download another app, it's slow as your grandma getting to the fridge for a glass of buttermilk.
     
Search tags for this page

woke up this morning and my phone was in airplane mode