Wireless Tethering

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by mdbrock7, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. mdbrock7
    Offline

    mdbrock7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am coming from a Windows mobile phone that allowed wireless tethering with a program called WMwifirouter. Does the Droid x have anything like this available? I don't always have a usb cable with me and my netbook does not have bluetooth
     
  2. NADA918
    Offline

    NADA918 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pdanet

    Its in the market
     
  3. mdbrock7
    Offline

    mdbrock7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool. I wasn't aware it was wireless
     
  4. NADA918
    Offline

    NADA918 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read that too quickly.. Only bluetooth not wifi sorry..
     
  5. AngryMob
    Offline

    AngryMob New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will I get in trouble with Verizon if I use the wireless tethering with my rooted Droid 2 without paying for it?
     
  6. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    Not unless you tell them ;)

    Sent from my Droid using DF app
     
  7. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    You shouldn't get in trouble, regardless of how many gigabytes of data you chomp through. They can only find out if you tell them, or they physically gain access to your phone.
     
  8. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wireless Tether Question

    Can you rebroadcast a wifi signal, using the wireless tether app? Or can you only use wireless tether to broadcast your 3G signal?
     
  9. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I keep wifi on when I tether so i'm not sure what the results are
     
  10. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +2
    why would you want to? If there's a wifi signal, then whatever you'd be tethering with could just hook to the existing wifi.
     
  11. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wifi extender. I want to extend the range of the original wifi broadcast point.
     
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    As far as I'm aware it rebroadcasts your data connection, be it 3G or WiFi, but you'd have to set it up NOT to kill your WiFi connection when you turn it on. However, the range you'd be getting would be paltry compared to a real extender.
     
  13. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there just a setting i have to enable in order to prevent it from killing my wifi connection? And why would it be paltry in comparison to a real extender?
     
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Broadcast power. Extenders broadcast in the watt range, some of them (depending) up to 4 watts; the D2 would only broadcast in the sub-watt range; I really can't see it broadcasting more than a watt due to battery concerns. Someone please correct me and back it up if this is not the case. :)

    Settings:

    Open WiFi tethering app from my signature (I don't know if the one in the market is up to date enough), hit the menu button, at the bottom of the screen (in portrait mode) should be "Don't disable WiFi"
     
  15. AngryMob
    Offline

    AngryMob New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot for your help, I am now streaming wireless to my laptop :)