wireless tethering question on rooted D2

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by mcatdtDroid, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. mcatdtDroid
    Offline

    mcatdtDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, I did the zr4 root thing yesterday and I'm rooted. Mainly, I wanted to be able to do screen shots and for wireless tethering.

    Screenshots work fine.

    wireless tethering, not so much.

    I have Barnacle and I have wifi tether, and neither work for me. Upon searching and searching over the past 2 days, I realize I'm needing something else on a kernel or rom side but I can't figure out what I need, where to get it, or how to install it once I find what I need. Everytime I search, I find links to other links, to 3rd links which simply take me to a site to download the actual wifi-app that I already have and nothing is ever explained.

    I'm not interested in major reworking of my device (overclocking, quadrant this or that... etc), I know I'm not ready for all that just yet, I just want wireless tether to work.

    My computer (and even my wii) can 'see' wifi-tether.... I just can't get internet on my computer despite having good signal and recognizing it.

    Just a quick tutorial, make it work, sort of thing.

    Thanks
  2. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SinCity
    That's weird.......I'm running a rooted D2 stock ROM and both apps work fine for me. I don't think you need anything but root to get them to work.

    Have you tweeked any of the settings to the apps?

    Sent from Droid2
  3. mcatdtDroid
    Offline

    mcatdtDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no I haven't.... not sure what I would need to change. Wired tether still works fine, but I haven't messed with anything else.
  4. chris215
    Offline

    chris215 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had a simliar problem too until I disabled the access control within the settings of wireless tether.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. elcompaLalo
    Offline

    elcompaLalo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SinCity
    Only time Barnacle gave me a hard time I fixed it by uninstalling, rebooting and the reinstalling the app.

    Sent from Droid2
  6. chris215
    Offline

    chris215 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I too was on the quest for the missing "kernal" for awhile. Until, as I said, disabled the access setting. It has worked fine since.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. mcatdtDroid
    Offline

    mcatdtDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    well, my access-control was checked off. I unchecked it and will try when I get home.

    The only other thing I see is the Change LAN settings...

    mine is set for the 2nd one down. Will that make a difference. There are about 10 of them, and I would hate to have to set up, retry, 10 times.
  8. chris215
    Offline

    chris215 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I left LAN alone, just ensure your channels are the same on wireless & pc. I went with channel 11

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  9. Gibbsinator
    Offline

    Gibbsinator New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had similar issues

    Stock/older roms:
    Rooted
    Barnacle and others worked

    Then I bricked my phone.

    Post fix and manual update to 2.3.2 (deodex):
    Rooted
    Barnacle and wifi tether are frustrating to work
    Battery manager force close
    Super User WAS repeatedly asking me the SAME question.
  10. mcatdtDroid
    Offline

    mcatdtDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, I got my wireless working.... I uninstalled and reinstalled. Seemed fine.. IDK but I'm not complaining