1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Wireless tether

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by BillCollector, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. BillCollector
    Offline

    BillCollector New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have barnacle for wireless tethering and when I try to turn on wifi hotspot, it says no network.

    Whats weird is when I open up my phone browser, it automatically takes me to the verizon hotspot web page.

    Have they fixed this exploit?

    Droid X .596 rooted

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  2. Uncle Chan
    Offline

    Uncle Chan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed wug's patch. Works perfect on GB 605 & ICX. Orginally had the same problem as you, but changed the setting in Wireless Tether Beta to recognize my droid x. Now, no problems. Hotspot doesn't even show anymore.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2011
  3. BillCollector
    Offline

    BillCollector New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Where can I find that patch? Also, which setting did you change. Didn't understand that part
  4. horr1blek1tten
    Offline

    horr1blek1tten New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Barnacle sucks use wireless tether for root users

    Sent from my iPhone 4S using TapaTalk
  5. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
  6. Uncle Chan
    Offline

    Uncle Chan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do a google search on it. You willfind it. And there is a setting in the beta version where you can tell it what kind of phone you have.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. blownfuse25
    Offline

    blownfuse25 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I have tried this app.. was working great before update... like you, takes me to Verizon page & cannot use internet on phone until I reboot, the happens all over again... haven't tried patch yet...

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. stratjb
    Offline

    stratjb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried the latest version 3.1 beta 6 and it still takes me to the Verizon hotspot page after starting tether. Guess I'll have to check out the patch.
  9. rosso
    Offline

    rosso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ayer, MA
  10. s1ck s0n
    Offline

    s1ck s0n New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The tether with the patch seems to be working for me, but what has me a little concerned is when i use the tether, the 3g mobile hotspot icon pops up as well. im running a liberty rom 3x or something i believe. would it be ok to just delete the 3g hotspot app?
Search tags for this page

tethering on droid takes me to verizon website