wireless tether only local, no internet

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by phreakaj, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. phreakaj

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I know this is probably simple but I can't figure it out. I'm using wireless tether with wep and when I hook up (all goes well btw) I oonly am able to connect to local. No internet. I am running windows vista and I'm sure I need to change a setting but I don't know what it is. Can someone shed some light for me.
     
  2. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    Every time I used to use the Wireless Tether for Root Users app, I literally didn't have to do or change anything....I just turned it on on my Droid, and then there it was on my computer like magic....

    So I mean I have no idea what would have to be messed with or changed.....
     
  3. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have this exact problem. Later today, I'm going to uninstall the Wifi for Root app and reload it. Then do the Tiwlan patch and see if any of that helps. I've read every post I can find about Wifi/tethering and found nothing relevant to this problem. I don't even use/need tethering, it just makes me nuts when something will not work the way it's supposed to. :mad:
     
  4. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    Haha....I am the exact same way FlyFisher.....I would flash those kernels from Taz and absolutely HAVE to then flash that talwin image to fix the wifi even though I NEVER use wifi....EVER lol it just bugged the crap out of me
     
  5. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Back when this was first released, I had to mess with the settings before I was able to connect. I changed the broadcast name and maybe the channel (can't remember now) and that kick-started it.
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks. I'm going to fool with this stuff shortly (I actually have a little real work to get out of the way first:mad:) My hunch is that my settings are wrong. It may be the new Windows 7 laptop settings??
     
  7. phreakaj

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using vista on a laptop but it was setup to be uphgraded to win 7 when I got it. I have had the same local only connection problem with my router at times and I think I had to reset the ip address for the router but I dunno if that would help or. If it is even possible. If anyone finds a fix please post as I don't have any internet except my droid when I am at my new place ande can't afford it.(broke college student)lol please help if anyone gets this figured out.
     
  8. kevin1016

    kevin1016 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Feel free to flame me for this but what's the point of wifi tether? I'm trying to figure out why I wouldn't just connect my laptop to the wifi.
     
  9. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you don't have access to the internet, you can connect your laptop (or any wifi capable device) to the Droid and use it's 3G connection...
     
  10. kevin1016

    kevin1016 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    No sh it? Huh. Well then, that's extremely useful. I was thinking it only worked with a wifi connection. So, basically, it's wireless Pdanet?
     
  11. rothenbj

    rothenbj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if you're having the same issues or if they've been resolved, but I found at least a workaround for me on XP. I have a wireless lan at home which I believe may be the reason I have an issue, not sure.

    I found mention of Wireless Zero Configuration mentioned somewhere. I found that you get to it by doing a START-RUN then entering "services.msc" in the dialog box. This will open a program entitled Services (Local) which has a long list of MS services. Go down to the bottom and you'll find Wireless Zero Configuration. Click on that and it will give you a Start button to push.

    Once started the phone beeped at me and I had the internet. The downside is that to get back on to my home network, I needed to stop the service. Also, if I turn off the PC, I need to start it up again to have the tethering work.

    I don't think this should be necessary, but at this point I'm at least tethering away. :icon_ banana::icon_ banana:
     
    #11 rothenbj, Mar 16, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2010
  12. bolden88

    bolden88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same deal with XP. My laptop see's my Droid as a wireless connection but I cannot click on it. When I highlight and click on CONNECT it just throws me back to my old router. Should I shut off my DSL router? It lets me pick WiFi connections neighborhood. Would love to cancel my DSL and save
     
Search tags for this page

android wifi tether local access only

,

easy tether no internet access

,
easytether connected but no internet
,
easytether is connected with android phone but no internet
,
local only on tether
,
tether laptop wireless to motorola no internet
,
tethered hero phone local only no internet
,
tethering local access only
,

tethering local only

,
wifi tether local only