Wireless tether not working

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by jeston, Feb 24, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. jeston
    Offline

    jeston Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all,

    I just bought my Xoom with the intent on tethering it to my phone for internet (with wireless tether for root). I haven't used tethering since I think SS 4.9, and it worked back then. So I go start it up and my Xoom won't see the network. So I start up my OLD Windows Mobile phone to see if it can see the network to make sure it wasn't my Xoom. Nope. So I start up my Xbox to see if it can see the network. Nope. That pretty much confirms a problem with my phone. Like I said, before today I hadn't used wireless tether since the upgrade to Gingerbread. I configured all my settings correctly and get nothing. I've tried uninstalling wireless tether and reinstalling with the same results. I even downloaded Barnacle and get nothing from either. Any help?

    Edit: Well, I just got it working via Bluetooth which is acceptable for now. I would still like to know what's wrong with the wireless, though.
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  2. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Tethering shows as working, ie running? But nothing you have can see it?
  3. MTuning
    Offline

    MTuning Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    My wireless tether works but the Xoom won't pick it up. What settings did you use to connect the Xoom via bluetooth? I'm getting the paired but not connected message.
  4. sranger
    Offline

    sranger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The WiFi on the XOOM is DISABLED by the factory until you purchase and activate at least one month of 3G Service. This sux, but that is what they did....

    Edit:

    This info was based on mis-information put out by Best Buy. I apologize for the incorrect information. The XOOM does not reqire 3G to get the WiFi to work....
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2011
  5. DaveB722
    Offline

    DaveB722 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its not picking up my phone's wireless tether either and I know sunday it was working cause my girls iPod was working on it. Strange, will have to mess around a little more with it. Home wireless works fine.

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums App
  6. MTuning
    Offline

    MTuning Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    It won't connect via wifi option, something about ad-hoc, hence why bluetooth tether is the workaround on the OG Droid.

    Guy at Verizon said that's not true about unlocking wifi. I have a data plan so I can't say 100%.
  7. Coolsaber57
    Offline

    Coolsaber57 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...what?

    OP, it's possible that you'll need to replace the WPA_Supplicant file on the Xoom with one that includes the ad hoc option. I had to do that on my Galaxy Tab.
  8. MTuning
    Offline

    MTuning Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    What what?
  9. Coolsaber57
    Offline

    Coolsaber57 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The workaround is for the Droid or the Xoom? It wasn't clear from you post :)
  10. MTuning
    Offline

    MTuning Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    The workaround was for connecting the Xoom to use the Droid's data. Sorry, I'm at work and attempting to multitask. From what I've read so far, some users are firing up wireless tether on the Droid but have to use the bluetooth option in the app. The xoom would connect to the Droid via bluetooth and use the Droid's data that way. It sounds like that was the OP's solution as well but I have been unsuccessful so far.
  11. Coolsaber57
    Offline

    Coolsaber57 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah, ok. I would bet money that it's the WPA_Supplicant file issue. Someone needs to update it to include the ad hoc functionality.
  12. MTuning
    Offline

    MTuning Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Update: I downloaded the experimental apk on the wireless tether's site and installed it on my Droid. My Xoom is now able to use my Droid's data via bluetooth option. I know this is not the OP's issue but just wanted to throw that out there. JACKPOT!
  13. jeston
    Offline

    jeston Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, after looking around a bit it's absolutely a problem with the Xoom not being able to connect to ad-hoc, however I'm still not convinced my wifi tether is working. I'll need to check on that when I get home to my laptop in a couple hours. If there is a way to update the WPA_Supplicant file, I'd love to do that.

    To get tether working over Bluetooth, pair the two devices, then start up Wireless Tether for Root and go into the settings and check Use Bluetooth. Then on the Xoom, go into your Bluetooth settings and find your device listed there (it should say "paired but not connected"). Click the wrench to the right of it and there will be an option for tethering. Just click that and away you go!
  14. MTuning
    Offline

    MTuning Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your wireless tether app in the /system folder or /data? I had trouble with mine when it was in the /system folder.
  15. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    After 5.0 it should now be in the /data folder
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011
Search tags for this page

comunity hacking wifi setup

,

wifi doesnt pickup andriod tether