wireless tether not working with bb 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ucpro, May 13, 2010.

  1. ucpro

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i just installed the tethering app which is 1.70 alpha and it doesn't work on bb. i went on the code.google.com site and i don't see any tether for 2.1...has nyone gotten tethering to run wih 2.1??
     
  2. blackngray70

    blackngray70 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is BB 2.1? There's a Bugless Beast v1.0 is that what you're referring too? If so wireless tether is working for me.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
  4. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have BB V1.0 and barnacle works just fine for me. Give it a try
     
  5. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have Bugless Beast V1.0 with Wireless Tether App (free) - have had no problems at all. It is version 2.0.1 for the Wireless Tethering App.
     
  6. ucpro

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah my bad, its bb 1.0 running 2.1 os. I haven't tried barnacle yet, but what version of wireless tether are you running. Im not sure why my computer wont recognize it
     
  7. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    What I did was - go to the Market and search for "wifi tether" - three came up: Barnacle Wifi Tether paid/unpaid (which I haven't tried). And Wireless Tether for Root Users --- which is what I'm using. Try that one.

    When I go to help about -- the version of Wireless Tether for Root Users is 2.0.1 (riding a pony) :p That's what it says, lol.
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    You installed the app but did you install a kernel that supports tethering?

    In your second reply, you mentioned that your computer was not recognizing the phone. What are your settings?

    Mike
     
  9. ucpro

    ucpro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    dothan, al
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm i didn't know the app was on the market...i guess i've been trying to run an outdated version, but now it connects!! that's awesome thanx fellas!
     
  10. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cool - good to hear! This mobile wifi rocks and I'd gladly pay for it if I need to.
     
  11. J*Bishop

    J*Bishop Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    which one did you end up using?
     
  12. petman

    petman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Barnacle Wifi Tether - Android app, available in the market,,,, Phone just has to be rooted for this to wirelessly WiFi tether.... don't have to install a special ROM
     
  13. Dxun

    Dxun Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Barnacle is the only 1 that works for me. It stats connected unless a phone call comes in of course. The Widow Tether that comes with some Rome out there disconnects constantly.
     
Search tags for this page

fast wifi tether free stopped working