Wireless tether not working...help!

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by Ortechman, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. Ortechman
    Offline

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I went to PE v5 from cm7...i was very satisfied with the speed in comparison with cm7. unfortunately I had to go back to cm7 because no matter what I did, I was unable to get wireless tether to work. I changed the kernels hoping it might fix the problem, but no success. Does anyone no a way to fix this problem. I also did a full wipe as well going to PE5.

    Please help so I can go back to this sweet rom!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  2. dfuser312553
    Offline

    dfuser312553 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know it's simplistic but did you try uninstall & reinstall? That is the only thing I've ever had to do.
    Did you receive any errors?
  3. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Confirmed. I had this same problem and a fresh wipe and install of 5.02 did the trick for me. Just checked it before I posted.

    Sent from my D1 running Project Elite 5.02
  4. Ortechman
    Offline

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Should I restore anything with Titanium Backup? Or should I just let google sync and restore it?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  5. tsmerian
    Offline

    tsmerian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've found that certain ROMs are picky with wireless tethering apps. I never could get Wireless Tether to function properly with PE (4.x or 5.x).

    I'm using Barnacle Tether. Like it better anyways, YMMV.

    Good luck.
  6. Ortechman
    Offline

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info. Here I go...lets see if this will work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  7. Ortechman
    Offline

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doh..still doesn't work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. Ortechman
    Offline

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NM...it worked!!!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  9. tsmerian
    Offline

    tsmerian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool! Like I said, never had any luck with Wireless Tether on PE...
  10. Ortechman
    Offline

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For some reason I cannot choose the access control option. But in not doing that, my connection works.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  11. tsmerian
    Offline

    tsmerian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's wierd. No issues with selecting access control on mine...