Wireless tether not working...help!

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by Ortechman, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. Ortechman

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I went to PE v5 from cm7...i was very satisfied with the speed in comparison with cm7. unfortunately I had to go back to cm7 because no matter what I did, I was unable to get wireless tether to work. I changed the kernels hoping it might fix the problem, but no success. Does anyone no a way to fix this problem. I also did a full wipe as well going to PE5.

    Please help so I can go back to this sweet rom!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know it's simplistic but did you try uninstall & reinstall? That is the only thing I've ever had to do.
    Did you receive any errors?
     
  3. x25064

    x25064 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Confirmed. I had this same problem and a fresh wipe and install of 5.02 did the trick for me. Just checked it before I posted.

    Sent from my D1 running Project Elite 5.02
     
  4. Ortechman

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should I restore anything with Titanium Backup? Or should I just let google sync and restore it?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  5. tsmerian

    tsmerian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've found that certain ROMs are picky with wireless tethering apps. I never could get Wireless Tether to function properly with PE (4.x or 5.x).

    I'm using Barnacle Tether. Like it better anyways, YMMV.

    Good luck.
     
  6. Ortechman

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info. Here I go...lets see if this will work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  7. Ortechman

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doh..still doesn't work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  8. Ortechman

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    NM...it worked!!!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  9. tsmerian

    tsmerian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool! Like I said, never had any luck with Wireless Tether on PE...
     
  10. Ortechman

    Ortechman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For some reason I cannot choose the access control option. But in not doing that, my connection works.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  11. tsmerian

    tsmerian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's wierd. No issues with selecting access control on mine...