Wireless tether issues

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Tech Support' started by GT_Cleric, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. GT_Cleric

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have recently rooted my x2 and have installed both barnacle wifi and google code's wireless tether. And neither of them work with most of my devices. I have root checker and it says I'm rooted. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  2. adamwhitehead

    adamwhitehead Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you getting a error message... also have you tried reinstalling barnacle and not changing anything, mine was temperamental when I changed ssid and wep.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  3. GT_Cleric

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I uninstalled barnacle and reinstalled. Also I just uninstalled the other wifi apps. When I reinstalled barnacle I got no errors. But still I can't find it with my xperia play.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  4. GT_Cleric

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I grabbed my old droid 2. And when I connect with that it says I'm in ad hoc mode. But that is only on my d2.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  5. 86mcss

    86mcss Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bakersfield CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Download open garden and and do NOT check enable wifi encryption. Only way I could get it to work.
     
  6. squeak

    squeak Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    i got "wifi tether" to work with a pc but cant make it work with my xoom. dont know if its an issue with some android devices or what.
     
  7. GT_Cleric

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried that but it didn't work. I tried all the tether apps I could find and nothing has worked.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  8. GT_Cleric

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can get it to work with a pc but on my d2 I was able to tether to anything.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  9. GT_Cleric

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So far from what I can tell I must be broadcasting in some kind of motorola only ad-hoc mode, but I'm not sure y.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
     
  10. GT_Cleric

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible that I don't have total root accesse? When I check advanced with root checker there are parts that say su denied or non existent. But it still says congratulations u have root access.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums