Wireless tether issues

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Tech Support' started by GT_Cleric, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. GT_Cleric
    Offline

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So I have recently rooted my x2 and have installed both barnacle wifi and google code's wireless tether. And neither of them work with most of my devices. I have root checker and it says I'm rooted. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  2. adamwhitehead
    Offline

    adamwhitehead New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you getting a error message... also have you tried reinstalling barnacle and not changing anything, mine was temperamental when I changed ssid and wep.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  3. GT_Cleric
    Offline

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So I uninstalled barnacle and reinstalled. Also I just uninstalled the other wifi apps. When I reinstalled barnacle I got no errors. But still I can't find it with my xperia play.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  4. GT_Cleric
    Offline

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So I grabbed my old droid 2. And when I connect with that it says I'm in ad hoc mode. But that is only on my d2.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  5. 86mcss
    Offline

    86mcss New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield CA
    Download open garden and and do NOT check enable wifi encryption. Only way I could get it to work.
  6. squeak
    Offline

    squeak Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i got "wifi tether" to work with a pc but cant make it work with my xoom. dont know if its an issue with some android devices or what.
  7. GT_Cleric
    Offline

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I tried that but it didn't work. I tried all the tether apps I could find and nothing has worked.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  8. GT_Cleric
    Offline

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I can get it to work with a pc but on my d2 I was able to tether to anything.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  9. GT_Cleric
    Offline

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So far from what I can tell I must be broadcasting in some kind of motorola only ad-hoc mode, but I'm not sure y.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  10. GT_Cleric
    Offline

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is it possible that I don't have total root accesse? When I check advanced with root checker there are parts that say su denied or non existent. But it still says congratulations u have root access.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums