1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Wireless Tether Fix/Work Around

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by MasterChiefB117, Nov 17, 2011.

  1. MasterChiefB117
    Offline

    MasterChiefB117 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    This is a repost of what I wrote down on someones elses thread. Better to share the knowledge with everyone now instead of reposting every time the question is asked. Cheers and happy tethering.

    Step 1. Go to this link via your phone and download this version of Wireless Tether,

    wifi_tether_v3_1-pre101.apk - android-wifi-tether - WiFi Tether for Root Users 3.1-pre101 *** EXPERIMENTAL *** - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting

    Step 2. install it, duh!

    Step 3. Go into settings and follow this down to the letter,

    Change Device Profile-Motorola Targa
    Change Setup-Method-Dont touch
    Enable Wifi-Encryption-This is a must because with out it, no device will not see your SSID, have to manual enter them ie. laptop to connect.
    Change Passphrase-Has to be at least 13 letters/numbers. By default it was setup with abcdefghijklk. Either keep it like that or change it.
    Change SSID-Change to what ever you want it to be
    Change Channel-I had a couple of my friends try different setting and seems to work but for best results use "Channel 06(2437)"

    DO NOT ENABLE ACCESS-CONTROL- very buggy, sometimes you'll see your SSID but nO password attached, meaning its an open wifi even though its not.

    Everything else leave them alone, if you want, unless you like the vibrate feature....

    Now from here back out from from Wireless Tether and go back, Someone said that you might need to force close the app via app manager. I didnt have to but try and see if that helps. From there you should see the app start with your data usage at the bottom. Next go to anything that can get WIFI. I used my laptop, my Transformer, and my Xbox. Works fine with no problem. The only thing i have problems is that the Razr 4G drains battery like crazy.


    *Update
    Some ppl have said that on 3.1 beta6, all you need to to is enable encryption and you should be find... couldnt get it to work.... not on mine, not on my friends, not even the store display...lol
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2011
  2. crwys
    Offline

    crwys New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm thanks for this bookmarking.

    I hope to find a more simple way for Wireless Tether on Droid Razr without setting up certain names and encryption.
  3. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Its really not complicated...all he's saying is download and install the .apk and then open its settings and check "enable wifi encryption"

    Sent from my CushZero using Tapatalk
  4. crwys
    Offline

    crwys New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually "all he is saying" is:
    Change Device Profile-Motorola Targa
    check "enable wifi encryption" - After you check this you must set a password.
    Change Channel-I had a couple of my friends try different setting and seems to work but for best results use "Channel 06(2437)"

    I never said it was complicated.
    Example: On my Droid X all I have to do is click a widget and my wifi tether starts. No need to change any settings besides SSID because I wanted to.
  5. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I wasn't trying to be rude. You said you wanted a more simple way. It really doesn't get much simpler.

    Sent from my CushZero using Tapatalk
  6. crwys
    Offline

    crwys New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol hate to break it to you but it actually does.
    If you read my above post?
    Install through recovery, done.
    WugPacked GB Tether Patch [All-In-One Zips]
  7. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I see I've wasted my time. Sorry for misinterpreting your post. It wont happen again.

    Sent from my CushZero using Tapatalk
  8. MasterChiefB117
    Offline

    MasterChiefB117 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    You guys are to nice. I only posted this in full and in its entirety is because in every other thread this question gets asked and you always get broken questions of what did I do with this setting or this setting. Believe me when I say I could of made a simpler setup with just saying turn it on and hope that it works. Purpose of this is for anyone who doesn't know how to setup wireless tether or hasn't heard of android.
  9. balticzar
    Offline

    balticzar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North East
    Works great. Thanks. That's the f#&$%n' solution I been looking for.
    You sir, are a gentleman.
  10. bros
    Offline

    bros New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I find it much easier if your rooted, the easiest way for me to get free wifi hotspot is to use sqlite and change the entitlement from 1 to 0 reboot your phone and that was it. work great!.
  11. jacobjer
    Offline

    jacobjer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got the stock hot spot app working...rooted using the droidrazrroot.com method (easy as pie). Now if someone can get it to allow me to open view all sites vs just sit there and load they'll be my best friend (at least for a day).

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  12. jtsativa420
    Offline

    jtsativa420 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Agreed the sqlite is the easiest way to get wifi tether. I have used it over 10 times on 3 different bionics and on my razr!

    Here is the video for those unfamiliar with the process.

  13. bodieism
    Offline

    bodieism New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thomasville, NC
    I wonder what's causing certain webpages to hang up like that? I also have the stock hotspot app working and have found that phonescoop, motorola, and amazon all give me problems. Phonescoop and motorola won't load at all while amazon does just fine until I click on the my account tab. It will load my amazon account info, but it does it extremely slow and when it finally gets done it won't be displayed correctly.
  14. jacobjer
    Offline

    jacobjer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know I'm rooted but superusers doesn't show wifi tether in the app list? Hummer? Got.it working last night...my hang up was the password ...u have to change it...at.least I did before it worked for me...the program says its granted superusers permission ...but nothing in the app list for superusers...normal?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  15. jacobjer
    Offline

    jacobjer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Figured it out....going into task manager and killing the program and then restarting it was the trick....

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  16. Oaklands
    Offline

    Oaklands New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have run the fix from droidrazrroot.com and can connect fine. However, any web page I load stops after partially loading and I can't go to any web sites at that point. The only way I am able to tether reliably is by using Wi-Fi Tether. It seems something is stopping me. Any ideas?
  17. Agrajag
    Offline

    Agrajag New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't believe how messy this one on the RAZR. I ran any of the apps easily on my original Droid but with this I went through the default app (after sqllite), barnacle, open garden and a few others. None of them worked for me reliably until this process. Still not optimal. It'd be great to just have it work and work with any settings I desire. I like open with access control.
  18. jacobjer
    Offline

    jacobjer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone tried (and had success with) wifi tether 3.1 beta 7?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  19. MasterChiefB117
    Offline

    MasterChiefB117 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I dont know whether or not the beta7 is the same as the one i upgrade to. Im on 3.1 pre105. Has the profile for Droid Razr. Heres the link from Android Police.

    http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/11/24/download-latest-android-wi-fi-tether-3-1-update-finally-brings-inactivity-shutdown-stops-turning-off-bluetooth-on-start/

    Now It might be an upgrade from the from the pre105. Let me check....
  20. MasterChiefB117
    Offline

    MasterChiefB117 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Updated again from the 3.1 pre105 to 3.1 beta7. Seems to work fine. Tethering to my now not so happy DX looking at its bigger cousin..... will run a few days and see what happens. I am looking for info now if anyone can help....

    Im tethering to my Xbox(time warner sucks and I havent paid them for cheap services) and Im trying to resolve my moderate sometimes strict NAT settings. Someone said to enable Routing Fix. Ive tried that and it still has issues. Goal is trying to get it as a Open NAT but since tethering is not a conventional router where I can go into the system and change some settings, im trying to see if theres a work around on this. Same on PS3...

    Any help will do...
Search tags for this page

android tethering fix

,
can i tether bt wifi from samsung galaxy s3 to xbox 360
,
how to change the wifi channel on droid razr
,

how to confgure nat on wireless tether for root users

,
how to fix thetering
,

how to open nat on mobile hotspot

,
tether routing fix
,
tethering entitlement vzw sql editor
,

tethering fix

,

tethering fix android

,
wifi tether for 2.3.5
,

wifi tether open nat

,
wifi tether router nat 2 or 1
,

wifi tether routing fix

,
xbox one nat strict