Wireless Tether doesnt show up

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by BrewCrew, Nov 25, 2012.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. nateohio
    Offline

    nateohio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Why not do away with the entitlement hack and use wireless tether like I do?

    Just fired it up the last couple of days and burnt through almost 30 gigs of data while tethered to my laptop

    Sent from my Droid RAZR Maxx HD
  2. lloydsw
    Offline

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Interesting that I can run wireless tether with the hack...

    The reason I want the VZW hotspot working is that I need an infrasturcture hotspot, not ad hoc like wireless tether.
  3. MdicnMan
    Offline

    MdicnMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +3



    The problem is that DHCP is not working. If you assign your PC a static address in the subnet defined in the hotspot app and assign the gateway (xx.xx.xx.1) and DNS you will be golden. For simplicity, you can set the DHCP Start address on the phone to 10.10.0.10, then set you static address on the PC to 10.10.0.11 with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 and a gateway of 10.10.0.1. Then set your DNS to use 8.8.8.8 and 4.4.4.4 (Google)

    Easy like cake... no? :icon_ lala:
  4. lloydsw
    Offline

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    In the VZW hotspot, the only option I can find is to change the client start address. And as soon as I change any number in that, the 'save' button grays out.
  5. MdicnMan
    Offline

    MdicnMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +3
    The only thing that I see that will gray the save out is if you are using an invalid address. Make sure the last octet is not 1 or 255. If you are still having trouble just set the static address on the PC to the starting address in the hotspot and the gateway address to the same but make the last octet 1. eg: 192.168.32.2 and 192.168.32.1
    I was only using the 10.10..xx.xx ips to make it easy to remember.




    Sent using Tapatalk 2
  6. lloydsw
    Offline

    lloydsw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    After reading your response yesterday, I went back & tried this again, and had success! - for about 30 seconds, then the internet connection would die. If I turned the hotspot off, then back on again, same result. This can't be easy, can it?:blink:
Search tags for this page
android wifi tether doesnt show up
,
correct dhcp address razr wifi tether
,

how to find wifi tethering if it doesnt show up

,
no wifi tethering icon showing
,
set up tethering on droid razr hd
,
tethered ophone wifi doesnt show up
,
wifi tether doesnt show up
,

wifi tether not showing up

,
wifi tether not showing up on computer
,

wireless tether not showing up