Wireless tether doesn't like macs?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by VideoGameMatt, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. VideoGameMatt

    VideoGameMatt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    One of the main reasons i rooted was for wireless tether and it doesn't work with my mac for some reason. But i have a netbook running windows 7 and that connects with no problems. Am i doing something wrong? Or does wireless tether not support macs? I've tried wireless tether and barnacle tether and both haven't worked. If it helps im running BB 1.1 with bekits 1 ghz kernel
     
  2. rickdarris2004

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It shouldn't be a problem to connect to a Mac. My wireless tether connects to both my Macbook and my iPad. I would try some different kernals or see if the stock BB 1.1 works. I am running BB Froyo V.0.2.1 and everything works great on the stock ROM. Might just be something flaky with the install also...
     
  3. mcinvaille

    mcinvaille Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am currently connected using wireless tether on my MBP. However, I do notice that the connection icon looks different on my Mac than normal. It looks like the typical disconnect "wave" except it shows a picture of a monitor inside of the wave.
     
  4. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    IIRC it's an ad-hoc connection versus infrastructure. It's possible that might have something to do with the OP's situation.
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I've flashed several roms (BB, SD, Cyano) and all been able to tether with my Mac Book Pro. At times, I need to press the enable access control.

    Mike
     
  6. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had to do that before as well when tethering to my MacBook Pro. Sometimes it takes a few minutes to actually connect for some reason.
     
  7. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
  8. VideoGameMatt

    VideoGameMatt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the most recent version and i got bluetooth PAN working on wireless tether but the wifi still is being odd, it connects but wont give me internet. But using barnacle i can use wifi and that works almost immediately so maybe wireless tether doesn't like me? Over the past few days i've gone from BB 1.1 with the 1 GHz bekit kernel, then a blueberry themed jrummy froyo rom with i forget which kernel, and now i'm back to BB 1.1 and now i'm running the p3 low voltage 1 GHz kernel and wireless tether has never worked with wifi for me.
     
Search tags for this page

android tether wont connect with mac

,

barnacle connect mac

,

barnacle tether os x

,

how to connect mac to barnicle

,

how to tether android to mac wirelessly

,

mac wont connect to wireless tether

,

macbook wireless tether to android

,

tether macbook pro to galaxy note ii by bluetooth