Wireless Tether - connected, but not to internet?

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by ~P~, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. ~P~

    ~P~ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just rooted my DX with Z4Root, downloaded Wireless Tether for Root, and rebooted. My netbook is connected through Wireless Tether, but I can't get on the internet.

    Help?

    Please?

    Anyone?
    Anyone?
    Buhler?
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Check you settings and make sure access control is unchecked.
     
  3. ~P~

    ~P~ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Glad you got it working. Yesterday, I helped a member with wireless tether and his fix was turning off access control.

    Mike
     
  5. Kermitdj

    Kermitdj New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't get my ps3 to connect at all... Have not tried my laptop yet. Help?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. zodder

    zodder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a friend who has the same problem trying to connect his PS3 to his Droid. Tagged in case someone has a clue...... :)
     
  7. ArmyDude

    ArmyDude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    Get an Xbox 360...
     
  8. vatothe0

    vatothe0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    It may not support the ad hoc network the free tethering programs create. The paid tethering app through Verizon does not have this restriction.
     
  9. BCool83

    BCool83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a DX, just DL'd the most current version of Wireless Tether (pre-14), and still have this problem. My computer recognizes and connects to the phone wirelessly, but 95% of the time it's either "Limited Connectivity" (meaning, no internet) or literally just says "Local" only. Access Control is not checked.

    Any other thoughts?
     
  10. BCool83

    BCool83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    bump........
     
  11. Dysan

    Dysan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    In case you didn't do it, your phone needs to be rooted to use that app. There's also a backdoor way to use the built in 3g hotspot on it. Turn on the hotspot app, then go into the data manager, data delivery, and then uncheck, then re-check the data enabled.
     
  12. BCool83

    BCool83 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dunno about the OP, but my phone is rooted. Regarding your backdoor suggestion, I thought any use of the native hotspot app would trigger additional usage charges from VZW...
     
  13. Extinct

    Extinct New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Backdoor does work(tried it for the first time tonight). Not sure about the billing though, anyone know for sure?
     
  14. ironman0370

    ironman0370 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this is an old thread, but this just now became a problem for me when I went to Windows 7 on my laptop. Thank you very much for your backdoor info above as it helped alleviate my "no internet access" issue, where the built-in hotspot would connect, but was "limited" in this way. as soon as I checked/unchecked that message went way.

    Thanks again.....so very helpful and appreciated!

    jeff
     
  15. cw801971

    cw801971 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this is an old thread. But when I first went to GB. every time I got a phone call or text I had to toggle airplane mode on and off to get data back. Don't know if that is the problem you are seeing or not. I just know that is what I have to do.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
android tether connected but no internet
,
android wifi tether local access only
,

easy tether connected but no internet

,
easy tether connects but no internet
,
easy tether lite no internet access
,

easy tether no internet access

,

easytether connected but no internet

,
easytether no internet access
,
easytether says connected but no internet
,
hotspot connects but no internet