Wireless. N unrecognized.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by cbarlow, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. cbarlow
    Offline

    cbarlow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a wireless n network. My d2g doesn't recognize. I just set up an ipad yesterday- no problems. Anyone else have a problem with n?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  2. Hawaiian Princess
    Offline

    Hawaiian Princess Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I have a Linksys N and I had no issues. maybe reset router?

    Aloha from Hawaii ... Droid 2 Global
  3. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried with no security on the router?
  4. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    shouldnt have to downplay encryption just to use the network with the fone. for me the issues ive had with the d1 are also present on the d2: after a few mins the connection goes null ... still connected but no transmissions. i use wpa2 with my dir-655 router in mixed mode handling 2 pc's, a ps3 and an epson workforce 600 wifi printer

    sent via wireless device
  5. djp
    Offline

    djp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I think the D2G only works with wireless N on 2.4 ghz. If you've set up your N network to be on the faster 5ghz only, it will not work. I know that the apple airport extreme has a toggle to select between 2.4ghz and 5ghz N networks.

    When I set up my D2G, I could see and attempt to connect to the 5ghz n network, but failed to connect, therefore I run the phone on my g network.
  6. Riesj
    Offline

    Riesj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same router, no problems here, but this router is notorious for "disappearing" sometimes. Try resetting it, worst case: factory-reset and change all settings back to how you want them.
  7. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks ... don't think that's going to solve my problem in specific, djp may be on to something. unsure if mixed mode is both frequencies emitted or just one, i think it is just one.

    but if i change the frequency, maybe that will force me to use a different encryption such as that supported by G ?

    i know all my other devices work fine with wpa2. i have a feeling the phone hardware is the issue, as with the droid 1. or it could be android ... not sure.
  8. Riesj
    Offline

    Riesj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mixed mode means b/g/n. The DIR-655 only supports the 2.4GHz frequency, so that can't be the reason. Seriously, try resetting it.
  9. zero7404
    Offline

    zero7404 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i pull the power from time to time to reboot it, but havent blown away the connection and started a new one. when firmware is available i normally backup the encryption then restore after firmware is loaded.

    i dont use wifi on the phone much anyway ...

    question about it tho: when its on do calls/sms/mms go thru the wifi connection (internet tunneling like tmob's hotspot service) or does the cellular radio still remain active?

    when the phone says 3g is that just data or voice as well?

    sent via wireless device
  10. Khiraji
    Offline

    Khiraji Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    As far as I know, Verizon doesn't allow anything except data to travel over WiFi. That is, SMS/MMS/voice calls all go over the cell network. There are apps that can call/text over WiFi (Skype, Google Voice, etc) but I don't believe it's possible (yet) to call natively over WiFi. I tried in an area with no cell coverage and WiFi, and my buddy with a blackberry was able to call and leave me a mocking voicemail while I could not.

    3G is data, and all other cell traffic is 1X (I think).
  11. jkochchs
    Offline

    jkochchs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    has this been solved?

    We're running into the same thing with 3 different Droid 2 global on a corporate N, 2.4 GHz network. The droids connect to the network on B, G, N, but do not get internet connectivity. The droids get fine internet connectivity when the network is run on B or G.

    Not sure anymore what it can be but the N network seems to strip out/drop something that is needed later on in the process. All the usual "simple" TCP/IP culprits have been cleared, i.e., there's DNS and DHCP assignments, manual or automatic doesn't seem to make a difference.
  12. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    I'm pretty sure D2G is very unstable on 802.11n. At least with D-Link routers. WiFi tends to either reconnect all the time, or to stall indefinitely.
  13. jkochchs
    Offline

    jkochchs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    at least in our case the connectivity to the network (Cisco APs and routers) is not the issue, it is always connected. It just doesn't get to the internet on N. And it always does on B or G, i.e., it seems to be stable/consistent that "something is wrong". Just wish I knew what that something might be......
  14. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Could you try going to the diagnostics menu by dialing *#*#4636#*#*, then going to Wifi Status? Press Refresh stats, and then press Run ping test.

    The information present on that screen might help diagnose the issue or at least tell if it's the same one I am talking about.
  15. robert70
    Offline

    robert70 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My wife has the d2g and hers works on either setting,

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  16. jkochchs
    Offline

    jkochchs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, but this comes back as expected, all network connectivity "looks ok", when connected to N mode though, the ping test (a connectivity test to Google.com) fails, as expected.

    I realize that this must be a combination of issues as (1) the network works just fine with any non-droid device and (2) the droids connect to other (presumably N) networks ok.

    In this case, the switching between N-mode and "lower speed" modes works like a turn off/on switch of the droid to the internet, all other parameters (security etc. unchanged). It is always connecting and remains connected to the network. It is the internet connectivity that is not working in N-mode. Of course, all the reboots on both ends have been tried.

    It seems like there is something in the submitted packets, etc. is different when the droids are connected in N or G or B mode and our network or the droids seem sensitive to. If I wouldn't know better, I'd say that the droid isn't N capable. For now I limit it to the Droid not to be capable of our N-network. Again, likely our network to blame, I just wish I knew where and how. As a workaround we have a separate G-based wireless router just for the droids.
  17. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    I'm more interested in the error message it gives when it fails. Often it says something like “no route to host” etc there.

    On a D-Link DIR-655 802.11n router, my D2G also connects to WiFi fine, transfers a little bit of data, and then turns silent, which looks just like whatt you are describing. I think it's some quirk; maybe something about 802.11n and its draft? As the D2G is probably fully 802.11n compliant, your access point might be a Draft-N one.
  18. jkochchs
    Offline

    jkochchs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It connects to the network just fine but does NOT connect to the Internet, Ping test consequentially saying Fail: IP add not reachable, Ping Hostname unknown, HTTP Client test Fail: IO Exception
Search tags for this page
a956 diag mode
,

android jelly bean stalls on unrecognized wi-fi

,
bionic jelly bean wi-fi 802.11n
,

droid 2 wireless n

,
droid 4 connecting to wireless n
,

droid bionic wireless n

,
droid2 wifi error unknown host dns
,
epson workforce 630 linksys wireless
,
motorola droid 4 wireness n
,
s4 corporate network ping be hostname