wired tethering??

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jmartinez06, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. jmartinez06

    jmartinez06 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm trying to find a apk or something that'll let me use tethering on droid, not wireless, or bluetooth, but wired since that's my only option. Any ideas guys??
     
  2. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    PDAnet???? And why couldn't you use wireless? It would be easier actually
     
  3. jmartinez06

    jmartinez06 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pdanet is only free for about two weeks. Plus I don't have a bluetooth dongle or a wifi car, its a desk top... lame!
     
  4. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're rooted just flash one of the new ROMs, like Sholes or Bugless Beast and they have the Wireless Tether for Root Users app....it is literally INSANELY easy to use
     
  5. jmartinez06

    jmartinez06 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have newest bb and wireless tethering, but I see no option for wired tether
     
  6. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    But why would you use "wired" tether when all you have to do is click the button on your Droid, and then click the button on your computer? How is that any different at all?
     
  7. jmartinez06

    jmartinez06 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because id have to have a wireless card to begin with buddy. I have a desktop not a loptop without a wifi card
     
  8. Newton122189

    Newton122189 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    sounds like you need to spend $20 bucks and get a wifi dongle for your desktop
     
  9. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh I didn't even know it needed a wireless card....I guess mine has one and I just didn't know that was why it connected
     
  10. jnev

    jnev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    how else exactly would a device a connect to a wireless network if it didn't have a wireless card?
     
  11. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    It's actually free for 30days with no limitations....After the 30 day trial, you cannot surf https sites. Other than that it works fine.
     
  12. HydroBG

    HydroBG New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. BoostinMech

    BoostinMech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also EasyTether on the market works also.... Look it up. PDANET works great too. Im way past the trial period too.:icon_ banana:
     
  14. hughesjr

    hughesjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. FunN4Lo

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Installed PdaNet yesterday. I am on the road on my laptop right now on USB 3g. It is just like being at home on my fiber optic high speed!

    I really want to try to root for wifi teather. But I want to find someone local who has done it that can keep me from doing something dumb that I have no clue how to fix. (Murphy's Law)
     
Search tags for this page

easytether centos