Wired Tether for Root Users Problem

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by ftdriver, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. ftdriver

    ftdriver New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I searched the forums up and down but could not find a solution to this problem. Almost all the results were for Wireless tether.

    When I click to tether the computer connects to the phone and internet beautifully. I get faster downloads from the phone than my local dsl. Unfortunately it only lasts for about 8-10 minutes. Then the network icon says that I have a local connection only. The transfer rates on the Wired Tether app slow to a crawl.

    I have tried three different roms and keep getting the same issue. I called *228 and reprogramed the phone with options 1 & 2. I downloaded the newest version of WTFRU. All to no avail. Help!!

    My System:
    Motorola Droid 1
    Bugless Beast V0.4
    Kernel 2.6.32.6-g103d848 android-build@apa26 #1

    Windows Vista 64-bit
     
  2. ohioDroid

    ohioDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know the exact details for bugless beast but I do know on the original Motorola Droid that Verizon wants us to pay for tethering. Others have an issue where they don't get ANY time, instead they are immediately forwarded to a Verizon Wireless web page where they are given rates available for wired tethering.

    Frankly, I'm surprised you're getting anything to work at all.

    All of my argument is thrown out the window though if you use an app like PDANet.
     
  3. ftdriver

    ftdriver New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, PdaNet does the exact same thing for me as Wired Tether.
     
  4. PhontomF

    PhontomF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing happens to me with wired tether running sapphire 1.1. To fix I have to disable tether app, unplug usb, plug back in, then re-enable tether and it works for about 10 mins then dies again. Very annoying to say the least. :mad:
     
  5. soatari

    soatari New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southern California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exact same problem here. The only workaround for me is to use PDANet which is a little slower all around and plagued by shoddy programming and the need for a computer side application.
     
  6. Sal R.

    Sal R. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Had the same problem when I ran BBv0.4 and Sapp, both Wired and Wireless tether.

    Try LFY (I was using 1.4). Both tether options worked flawlessly and consistently.
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have used the tether app for quite some time. Perhaps I just lucky but once connected/tethered I've not experienced change in speed. Currently, I'm running Sapphire 8.4 and OC to 1 gh. About two weeks ago our DSL (Verizon) was having issues. I tethered my phone and Mac Book Pro for over two hours and had not issues or slowness.

    Mike
     
  8. harrellj

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    What tether app are you using? I've tried enabling tethering in wireless/network settings (for USB) and get extremely slow and rather crappy connection (seriously, I think DUN is faster or equal). Any other apps would be awesome to try.
     
  9. brando56894

    brando56894 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive been using the tethering option in Sapphire v1.x for about 3 weeks and never had a problem with it. For about two weeks last month it was my only form of internet connectivity until I got enough money to sign up for an actual account lol I actually just used it earlier in class for about an hour and it works fine for me. Wireless tethering with Barnacle doesnt work though.
     
Search tags for this page

connection

,

wired tether for root users slow

,
wired tether v 1.4 for root user free download