Wired tether app keeps FCing

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by razorseal, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. razorseal
    Offline

    razorseal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the one that came with the ROM... it keeps freezing up on me, as soon as I click the 'press the tether' button, it FCs

    any help?
  2. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Just to make sure, are you running a theme or stock?
  3. razorseal
    Offline

    razorseal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Themed (evolution), I did the fix permissions as well
  4. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I would try it without the theme, just to make sure. I saw this issue after I applied my theme to this rom (didn't try it before theming). It was a deal breaker for me since I use it a lot.
  5. razorseal
    Offline

    razorseal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I don't even use it, but it would be nice to have it work lol

    bummer =/
  6. djsiva
    Offline

    djsiva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    tether

    You could always use Wireless Tether for Root Users. I use it all the time and it's great.
  7. ifuseeknick
    Offline

    ifuseeknick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wired tether immediately FCs on me too. I don't have any theme and only downloaded your basic rom with the built in slayher kernel. Does wired tether work for anyone on this ROM?
  8. razorseal
    Offline

    razorseal New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I could... But I don't like when things don't work :)
  9. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    i hadn't noticed this, since i use Wireless tethering almost exclusively now. but i tried it, and Wired Tether does FC. it's reported in the bug thread for PE, so hopefully it will get addressed... you could always try removing it as a system app, and then dl and install the .apk separately to see if that helps.
  10. hosspower
    Offline

    hosspower New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had this same problem. I uninstalled wired tether. I than redownloaded the most recent from google code (?). When I reinstalled it, it asked for SU permission which I granted and has not been a problem since. The orignal never asked for SU which was I think was causing the FC.
  11. _Killer_
    Offline

    _Killer_ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    How do you remove apps from system apps?
  12. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    to remove a system app, and allow for dl from the mkt, you can do one of two things. you can delete the .apk file as a system app using root explorer - once you find it in root explorer, you want to push the "mount r/w" button, to change it to read/write. then long press on the .apk, and choose "delete". then, press the "mount r/o" button, to change it back to read only. then reboot (this is important for the deletion to "take"). app is no longer a system app, and you can dl from the mkt. :)

    you can accomplish the same thing using terminal emulator:

    su
    sysrw
    rm /system/app/[insert name of system app].apk
    sysro
    reboot
    dl app from mkt
  13. _Killer_
    Offline

    _Killer_ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    Thanks! i was just pumped cause i was using android mate.. you can delete the files.. BUT they just pop right back up.. :( lol.. i'll try TE next..
  14. _Killer_
    Offline

    _Killer_ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    I'm unable to update Launcher Pro......... Should i also remove it from the system apps and then DL from market??

    EDIT.. NM I answered my own question.. DL root explorer.. I LOVE IT! removed all the system apps that i WILL NEVER USE and launcher pro so i could update it.. rebooted.. worked like a charm!
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  15. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cool! glad it worked out :)