Wired tether app keeps FCing

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by razorseal, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. razorseal

    razorseal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    the one that came with the ROM... it keeps freezing up on me, as soon as I click the 'press the tether' button, it FCs

    any help?
     
  2. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just to make sure, are you running a theme or stock?
     
  3. razorseal

    razorseal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Themed (evolution), I did the fix permissions as well
     
  4. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would try it without the theme, just to make sure. I saw this issue after I applied my theme to this rom (didn't try it before theming). It was a deal breaker for me since I use it a lot.
     
  5. razorseal

    razorseal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I don't even use it, but it would be nice to have it work lol

    bummer =/
     
  6. djsiva

    djsiva Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ratings:
    +31
    tether

    You could always use Wireless Tether for Root Users. I use it all the time and it's great.
     
  7. ifuseeknick

    ifuseeknick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wired tether immediately FCs on me too. I don't have any theme and only downloaded your basic rom with the built in slayher kernel. Does wired tether work for anyone on this ROM?
     
  8. razorseal

    razorseal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I could... But I don't like when things don't work :)
     
  9. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    i hadn't noticed this, since i use Wireless tethering almost exclusively now. but i tried it, and Wired Tether does FC. it's reported in the bug thread for PE, so hopefully it will get addressed... you could always try removing it as a system app, and then dl and install the .apk separately to see if that helps.
     
  10. hosspower

    hosspower New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had this same problem. I uninstalled wired tether. I than redownloaded the most recent from google code (?). When I reinstalled it, it asked for SU permission which I granted and has not been a problem since. The orignal never asked for SU which was I think was causing the FC.
     
  11. _Killer_

    _Killer_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you remove apps from system apps?
     
  12. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    to remove a system app, and allow for dl from the mkt, you can do one of two things. you can delete the .apk file as a system app using root explorer - once you find it in root explorer, you want to push the "mount r/w" button, to change it to read/write. then long press on the .apk, and choose "delete". then, press the "mount r/o" button, to change it back to read only. then reboot (this is important for the deletion to "take"). app is no longer a system app, and you can dl from the mkt. :)

    you can accomplish the same thing using terminal emulator:

    su
    sysrw
    rm /system/app/[insert name of system app].apk
    sysro
    reboot
    dl app from mkt
     
  13. _Killer_

    _Killer_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! i was just pumped cause i was using android mate.. you can delete the files.. BUT they just pop right back up.. :( lol.. i'll try TE next..
     
  14. _Killer_

    _Killer_ Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Marietta Ga
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm unable to update Launcher Pro......... Should i also remove it from the system apps and then DL from market??

    EDIT.. NM I answered my own question.. DL root explorer.. I LOVE IT! removed all the system apps that i WILL NEVER USE and launcher pro so i could update it.. rebooted.. worked like a charm!
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  15. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    cool! glad it worked out :)