Wiping

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Cdjones187, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    When doing a nandroid restore should I wipe before hand?
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2010
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    That would be a bad idea:)



    1. Erase everything on the phone
    2. Backup everything on the phone
    3. Epic fail come recovery time.
     
  3. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    ahh, no fair, you edited:)

    I do not do a wipe before doing a restore but I always do an advanced backup and restore so I am replacing everything anyways.
     
  4. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hah yeah I cought my typo right as i posted it! :p I do wipe, multiple times every time i do a restore. I havent used advanced yet. What are the differences between regular and advanced nandroid backup?
     
  5. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    the advanced lets you pick which parts of the rom you want backed up. It also lets you name it. The regular just replaces the previous backup with the current one you have.

    I name them by rom flavor, version, and date. That way I can roll back to another one if need be, which happened once when a new rom didn't have maps working right and I needed navigation.

    eg: ss4.1_20100615
     
  6. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ill back up every time i have a stable fast/smooth setup I like. Then use rom manager to rename it. Im sending my phone into insurance monday due to a washed out screen so i just copy my backups to my pc. Will be nice to be able to root and flash with and oced rom with all my apps on it already on a fresh new phone! =] Are you using Clockwork Recovery?
     
  7. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am not sure if Christim is using ClockworkMod or SPrecovery, but I am using CWM and I can tell you that your backups are saved on your sd card in a folder named clockworkmod. so as long as you keep your current sd card, once you get your new phone, root it and start it up you can apply your backup rather easily.
     
  8. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm not using CW. As just mentioned both recovery tools will store the backups on the card. CW does a full backup and SPRecovery has the regular and advanced nandroid backup. The advanced one lets you do the full backup, which I always choose. Your CW recovery will get you back in working order just fine.
     
Search tags for this page
backup htc thunderbolt before wiping
,

will wiping my phone stop hacking