1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Windows Sync Mode in Fission

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Global Roms' started by brokenbirthday, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. brokenbirthday
    Offline

    brokenbirthday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Meade, MD
    Is there a way get Windows Sync Mode when I plug into my PC while using fission? I have fission 2.4.3 for the Droid 2 Global.
  2. satoru
    Offline

    satoru New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    jupiter X.x
    Use the search. Im pretty sure I saw this same question some time ago. I don't think anyone running fission 2.4.3 is able to do that. I know that I am not able to. Fission is dead anyway. Especially since moto shut down all the devs. If you really like fission then id say keep it otherwise you should sbf/nandroid back to stock.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  3. brokenbirthday
    Offline

    brokenbirthday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Meade, MD
    Thanks. Well, that sucks. I think I'm going to try Liberty since the romer's been improved.
  4. satoru
    Offline

    satoru New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    jupiter X.x
    That's what im going to do

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  5. Iff
    Offline

    Iff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Extract the attached zip file

    Copy com.motorola.android.mediasync.jar to /system/framework and make sure its permissions are rw-r--r-- or CHMOD 644

    Copy MediaSync.apk to /system/app and make sure its permissions are rw-r--r-- or CHMOD 644

    Find these lines in /system/build.prop and change the 0 to a 1:

    Code:
    ro.mediasync.enable_sync_ui = 0
    Code:
    persist.mot.usb.mediasync = 0
    Then reboot your phone.

    Attached Files:

  6. brokenbirthday
    Offline

    brokenbirthday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Meade, MD
    Wow. Thanks a lot. Didn't actually think it would be that easy.
  7. brokenbirthday
    Offline

    brokenbirthday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Meade, MD
    Everytime I try to cp or push the files, it says Read-only file system. How do I change that?
  8. brokenbirthday
    Offline

    brokenbirthday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Meade, MD
    Okay, after a grueling battle with adb shell, I finally have all the files in their proper place and the build.prop edited. It still won't let me do Windows Media Sync.
  9. Iff
    Offline

    Iff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the Windows Media Sync option show up at all when you connect the phone?

    I personally used Root Explorer to move the files - you have to make sure the permissions are correct, otherwise it won't work. Do a ls -l on /system/app and /system/framework to make sure there's no differences between the files you copied and the other ones.
  10. brokenbirthday
    Offline

    brokenbirthday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Meade, MD
    I'm using the adb shell through the command prompt. But yeah, the file permissions are all 644, and there's no difference that I can find with the files.

    I'm really familiar with linux (I use it most of the time, but getting the sdk and tools to work as well as they do on windows is a pain). The file system I understand but I have no clue why these files aren't working.

    Just to check:
    -pushed MediaSync.apk in to the /system/app directory
    -pushed com.android.motorola.mediasync.jar to the /system/framework directory
    -modified the build.prop file to ro.mediasync.enable_sync_ui = 1
    -all file permissions = 644

    That's all?
  11. brokenbirthday
    Offline

    brokenbirthday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Meade, MD
    Should the build.prop file also have execute permissions?
  12. brokenbirthday
    Offline

    brokenbirthday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Meade, MD
    Got it! It took long enough. I had to change another build.prop line:

    persist.mot.usb.mediasync = 0
    to
    persist.mot.usb.mediasync = 1

    Thanks a lot for your help. Actually taught me a lot. Thank you.
  13. Iff
    Offline

    Iff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aaaahhh, sorry about that! I stumbled my way through the process a few months ago too and guess I forgot about that step. Glad to hear you got it working. :)
Search tags for this page
how to setup windows sync mode for dropbox
,

persist.mot.usb.mediasync

,
where do i find windows sync mode